RSS

Daily Archives: August 27, 2013

Turku buffet dinner

I mentioned in my earlier post about spending Midsummer in Finland, and the challenges that posed to finding a bite to eat – when most of the city seemed to be empty! On Midsummer day, we decided (after spending some time along the river and walking to and from Turku Castle) to enjoy the hotel’s buffet for dinner.

As I mentioned before, the buffet breakfast was pretty extensive at the Centro hotel in Turku, with lots of selection in a wide range of areas including cereals, breads, meats, fruits, vegetables and food that I wouldn’t consider typical breakfast foods. We weren’t sure what to expect for dinner, but anticipated a similar selection.

We started off with a drink from the small menu.  The hotel front desk doubled as a bar, and they also had a few snacks offered there too.

liquor menu

liquor menu

While my companion stuck with a familiar Heineken, I figured I’d try something different and chose between Karhu III and Lapin Kulta III, both Finnish Lagers.  Karhu translates to “Bear” and Lapin Kulta translates to “Gold of Lapland, and the bartender/desk clerk recommended the pale lager Karhu III, which I enjoyed. I am not much of a beer drinker, but after the warm day in the sunshine, it was great!

Buffet dinner selection

My companion’s dinner selection

Read the rest of this entry »

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 27, 2013 in Out of town - Europe

 

Tags: , , ,