RSS

Daily Archives: August 21, 2013

I have a new favourite flavour

Adorable logo

Adorable logo

I love ice cream. I think that it is probably my favourite dessert. ( Although ask me about that again when I have an amazing slice of cheesecake…). While on my trip to Finland I think that I discovered my new favourite flavour of ice cream… Salmiakki!

Salmiakki (or salmiak, or salmiac liquorice) is salty licorice popular in the Nordic countries, Netherlands, Baltic States and Northern Germany. It gets it’s distinctive salty, astringent, ‘tongue-numbing’ flavour through the use of ammonium chloride. Carbon black is used as a food colouring in the black candies, but they can also come in white and grey. The taste can be overwhelming and almost stinging, and the flavour is found not just in hard and soft candies, but also in alcoholic beverages, chocolate, meat, cola drinks, and yes… ice cream!

One of the many ice  cream kiosks

One of the many ice cream kiosks

Read the rest of this entry »

 
2 Comments

Posted by on August 21, 2013 in Out of town - Europe, Treats

 

Tags: , , ,