RSS

Standing in the way of sushi (blogging)

27 Jan
Rainbow Roll

Rainbow Roll from Co-op…. from a previous visit

Today’s Daily Post Prompt is “barriers”, though I can’t say that there’s a lot that will stand in the way of getting some tasty sushi!

However, the last three times I went out for sushi, I didn’t end up photographing the meal or sharing a post about the experience… the first was a take-out sushi meal from Co-op, which I’ve blogged about a half-dozen (or so) times before I’m sure, the second was out for AYCE (All You Can Eat) sushi at Sushi Ichiban on Macleod Trail in Calgary – which I’ve also blogged about before, and the third and most recent was just last night out for a AYCE sushi with big group of friends to celebrate my birthday at Miki in Banff.

All you can eat from Sushi Ichiban

All you can eat from Sushi Ichiban (from a previous visit)

So, why no new photos? The barrier with the last two places was just feeling a little like “that gal” – the one always pulling out her cell phone in the middle of a meal. Sure I was only going to take a photo of the food to blog about, but I really started to feel like pulling out my phone would intrude on the visit, the conversation, and just generally ‘fitting in’ with the flow of the evening.

Here’s a question to other bloggers – do you ever find yourself thinking “ooh, I could blog about this” but stopping yourself just because it’s not really the time or the place – or do you take every opportunity, and not let those “barriers” stop you?

Other bloggers

There are a bunch of other bloggers chiming in on this topic (72 so far!). So far, check out the following blogs for more on “barriers”.

  1. Harry Potter, Famous Dads and Stoke Newington | AS I PLEASE
  2. Emotional baggage | Perspectives on life, universe and everything
  3. Motivation Needed | suzie81’s Blog
  4. Neanderthals | Perspectives on life, universe and everything
  5. I want to be a dreamer when I grow up | From One Crazy Life To Another
  6. Barriers | Momma Said There’d Be Days Like This
  7. Scenes From A Barrier Island | Exploratorius | Photo Hack & Curious Wanderer
  8. Daily Prompt: Obstacle Course -as a Medical Student | Journeyman
  9. Some weeks I just wish I could hibernate | Kate Murray
  10. Why women put up barriers to sex! ADULT CONTENT -Daily Prompt | alienorajt
  11. Daily Prompt: Obstacle Course | The Wandering Poet
  12. DP Daily Prompt: Obstacle Course | Sabethville
  13. Daily Prompt: Obstacle Course | Incidents of a Dysfunctional Spraffer
  14. Daily Prompt: Obstacle Course | Under the Monkey Tree
  15. Obstacles | Sue’s Trifles
  16. blossoming individual | peacefulblessedstar
  17. Getting Things Done « One Crazy Mom
  18. Adventures in baby cereal | Life Love Lily
  19. So much to do | Angel Frouk
  20. Getting Out of My Way | The Silver Leaf Journal
  21. A Day With Chef Rene | The Jittery Goat
  22. caught | yi-ching lin photography
  23. there are | y
  24. Obstacles to Peace and/or Prosperity/Daily Prompt | I’m a Writer, Yes I Am
  25. Purpose | Phelio a Random Post a Day
  26. Daily Prompt: Obstacle Course (to UK) | Memory Bank of the Nocturnal
  27. An obstacle for everyone | LauGraEva
  28. The “Motif” Obstacle Course! | Home’s Cool!
  29. Daily Prompt: Obstacles « My journey to qualify for the Boston Marathon…and everything in between…
  30. The Silent Treatment. | Hope* the happy hugger
  31. Daily Prompt: Obstacle Course | Awl and Scribe
  32. of nothingness « Anawnimiss
  33. Why Did I Tackle This Obstacle Course? | Sued51’s Blog
  34. Time and Time Again . . . But, There Never Seems to be Enough | meanderedwanderings
  35. Daily Prompt: Obstacle Course | sixty, single and surviving
  36. Inspirational quotes by Steve Jobs | Processing the life
  37. Life Can Be A Obstacle Course | Lisa’s Kansa Muse
  38. Daily Prompt: Obstacle Course | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  39. Self Motivation | A mom’s blog
  40. Smoke Screen | Broken Light: A Photography Collective
  41. Busy, Busy, Busy Bee… | An Upturned Soul
  42. Time and Tide | Flowers and Breezes
  43. Daily Prompt: Obstacle Course | Kauniiksi katsottu – Seen as Beautiful
  44. WP Daily Prompt: Obstacle Course | 101 Challenges in 1001 Days
  45. Bottled Gumption | A.C. Melody
  46. You Can’t Tie Your Shoes | Sam Wight
  47. Daily Prompt: Obstacles / unlocking my doors… | Louie Behogan
  48. Overcoming barriers | Mishe en Place
  49. DP: Obstacle Course |Metaphor is a pushy jerk. | thejimmieG
  50. Obstacle racing | Unknown File
  51. Lost for Words | Raspberry’s Daydreams
  52. Barriers | The Land Slide Photography
  53. I did it! | Life is great
  54. Early roses | The Seminary of Praying Mantis
  55. Obstacles and barriers | Willow’s Corner
  56. How Can We Overcome Barriers to Creativity? | Pairings: Art + What Goes With It
  57. Musings of a First Time Buyer | L5GN
  58. Thanks Allah! | Dreams to Reality !
  59. Obstacle Course | The Nameless One
  60. YOU CAN’T GET THERE FROM HERE | Serendipity
  61. My weekly obstacle course | uddza
  62. Life is an Obstacle Course… | The Christian Gazette
  63. Living With Barrier – Passionately Bored
  64. It’s a thirsty man who writes for any reason. [Mama #2] | Rob’s Surf Report
  65. A Helping Hand | LenzExperiments
  66. Obstacles | Step Into My Head
  67. Barriers | dreaming of melville
  68. Daily Prompt: These Are the Breaks | One Starving Activist
  69. Daily Prompt: Obstacle Course | To Breathe is to Write
  70. P E R S P E C T I V E | the bippity boppity beautiful blog
  71. Daily Prompt – Barriers | imexcited
  72. Daily Prompt: Barriers | Occasional Stuff
 
16 Comments

Posted by on January 27, 2014 in Sushi

 

Tags: , , , ,

16 responses to “Standing in the way of sushi (blogging)

  1. Marilyn Armstrong

    January 27, 2014 at 1:20 pm

    Now I’m starving for sushi. How cruel. And how lovely the food 🙂

     
    • Dawn

      January 28, 2014 at 10:34 am

      Hahaha.. I know! A few days ago I posted about the prettiest sushi pictures – and it made me crave sushi just to look at them…. With how cold it is today (and the fact that I had sushi last night) I think I’ll be able to put off the temptation- for a few days at least!

       
  2. Preeti

    January 27, 2014 at 1:22 pm

    Tons of times! There’s a cute parrot family that I can see from my office window and would love to photograph…but haven’t coz’ it’d be awkward infront of my colleagues at work!

     
    • Dawn

      January 28, 2014 at 10:36 am

      Maybe you can photograph them when your colleagues are out for lunch or something? I can relate for sure though – now that my phone has a decent (or reasonably decent) camera on it, I think I am always taking photos of some sort!

       
  3. Dawn

    January 27, 2014 at 1:25 pm

    Hahaha.. I know! A few days ago I posted about the prettiest sushi pictures – and it made me crave sushi just to look at them…. With how cold it is today (and the fact that I had sushi last night) I think I’ll be able to put off the temptation- for a few days at least!

     
  4. HudleyFlipside

    January 27, 2014 at 9:12 pm

    I like sushi.
    And about blogging ….I think of things. Or ideas form in my mind and heart… then I hold on to them waiting for the right time to post them.

     
    • Dawn

      January 28, 2014 at 10:37 am

      I definitely use the ‘scheduled post’ feature for that kind of thing… at any given point I probably have a dozen or so posts half or partially written, just waiting for photos, or for me to form all of my thoughts on the subject…

       

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.