RSS

Taste of Calgary 2017

11 Aug
Root Beer Float mini-melts from the Taste of Calgary 2017

Root Beer Float mini-melts from the Taste of Calgary 2017

I got to Taste of Calgary on Thursday evening after work, and over the next few posts I’ll share some of the goodies… but there’s still time to get down there yourself!

My friend and I each bought $20 worth of tickets – and we left FULL!

Mini Melts

Mini-melt menu from the Taste of Calgary 2017 - only a few flavours were available for the festival tickets

Mini-melt menu from the Taste of Calgary 2017 – only a few flavours were available for the festival tickets

I’m going to go a little backwards for my post, and start with mini-melts! They only had a few flavours (which oddly aren’t listed on the Taste of Calgary website…)

  • Cotton Candy
  • Cookies n Cream
  • Root Beer Float
  • Chocolate
  • Fruit Punch
  • …and Orange Creamcicle

I went for the Root Beer Float (pictured above) and it was super-tasty… a perfect way to end the evening!

Calgary Flames Catering

 

Chef at the Calgary Flames Catering booth preparing the sliders at the Taste of Calgary 2017

Chef at the Calgary Flames Catering booth preparing the sliders at the Taste of Calgary 2017

The second-to-last place we visited was the Calgary Flames Catering booth where my friend went for the Grilled Alberta Beef Flank Steak Slider with Sour Cherry Aioli and the Mini Pillow Donuts with Raspberry Lime Coulis.

Grilled Alberta Beef Flank Steak Slider with Sour Cherry Aioli from Calgary Flames Catering at the Taste of Calgary 2017

Grilled Alberta Beef Flank Steak Slider
with Sour Cherry Aioli from Calgary Flames Catering at the Taste of Calgary 2017

Of course.. I had a bite of each too (best things about going with close friends!). I didn’t care for the slider, though she thought it was amazing. (To me, there was too much flavour to the bread, and not enough flavour of anything else). The doughnuts were ok… but I think they would have been better warmer, and maybe not as large – there was just a lot of dough for me.

For myself, I ordered their Polynesian Pork Tacos. The taco was good… but.. honestly nothing especially interesting or memorable. Maybe it was just my mood, but again I thought that the bread flavour overwhelmed the rest of the dish… the pork was tasty, but also the whole thing dripped a LOT – definitely not a good food for standing around with limited tables or seats…

When we were done, my friend went back for the Truffle Butter Popcorn, but honestly, it smelled so … bad… that I didn’t even try a piece. She said that it wasn’t very good at first… then kind of grew on her… and then it was just too much and she didn’t like it anymore. Her advice – get it and split it with a few other people…

Greener event

Really happy to see composting and recycling at the Taste of Calgary 2017

Really happy to see composting and recycling at the Taste of Calgary 2017

I was really happy to see that Taste of Calgary was offering composting and recycling alongside their garbage bags. Additionally a lot of the vendors were visibly displaying that their utensils and things were compostable. In the past the waste that this event generates really bothered me – so this was a very welcome sight indeed!

Come join me on Facebook!

https://www.facebook.com/HappySushiBelly/

Come join me on Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/HappySushiBelly/

Although I’d love for you to click “subscribe” to Happy Sushi Belly, I know that not all of my readers are WordPress members so that’s a bit hard…

Instead, if you click “follow” on Facebook you should be able to see when I load new blog posts. PLUS I also post additional articles, and yummy food photos from my Instagram feed a few times a week.

Come join me on Facebook!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 11, 2017 in Downtown Calgary, Food Trucks, Treats

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
