RSS

Viking Age style flatbread

31 Jul
Viking age style flatbread, ready to pack up for camp

Viking age style flatbread, ready to pack up for camp (or top with honey and nom…)

For a SCA camping event I was going to, I wanted to make some semi-authentic (ish) food to enjoy at the event. While I have a number of different costumes, my main persona is 11th Century Norse, (Icelandic to be specific) aka VIKING. Viking-age attire is also way easier to wear and more comfortable at camping events for that matter too.

One of the dishes I wanted to make was a Viking-style flatbread.

The recipe I chose didn’t turn out quite as I expected – but yummy all the same.

Medieval recipes

The challenge with Viking age recipes is that it’s not like there was a written cookbook like from other periods in history. People with way more culinary research skills than I have, have developed recipes based on the foodstuffs available to the Viking Age Norse, the cooking-related artifacts left behind, grave goods, etc…

For this bread I used the “Flatbread” recipe from the New Varangian Guard’s PDF of recipes. Their recipe is:

2¾ cups of flour (use at least ½ white flour & make up the rest with whole grain flours of your
choice)
¼ cup sugar (or honey)
½ tablespoon of soda
½ tablespoon of salt
½ cup of butter
1 cup of buttermilk
Mix 2¾ cups of flour (use at least ½ white flour & make up the rest with whole grain flours of
your choice) with ¼ cup sugar (or honey), ½ tablespoon each of soda and salt, ½ cup of butter
and 1 cup of buttermilk. Blend dry ingredients, cut in butter until the mixture is crumbly and
then add the buttermilk. Stir with a fork until the mixture holds together. Shape into a ball and
then pinch off small pieces to make balls 1″ in diameter. Roll out each ball on a floured surface
until it is 4 to 5 inches in diameter. Place rounds on ungreased baking sheets and bake in a
400° oven for 5 minutes or until lightly browned.
Makes about 6 dozen. Store in an airtight container.

I didn’t roll mine out – I just flattened them in my hand. I used sweetener instead of sugar (or honey) because I generally try to limit my sugar. I also did 5 minutes on one side, and then flipped them for 5 minutes of cooking on the other side too.

Flattened out bread and ready to cook! I put mine on a parchment-lined cookie sheet to make clean-up a bit faster.

Flattened out bread and ready to cook! I put mine on a parchment-lined cookie sheet to make clean-up a bit faster.

One of them had two holes, and the heat browned the bread in a crescent… it kind of looked like a smiley face. Or, a creepy ghost as my friend suggested…

After two batches of plain breads, I did a little taste-test, and found the bread a little bit sweeter than I anticipated, so I opted to chop up some dates to put in the second batch. It increased the cooking time by a bit as well. It ended up being 5 minutes on one side, and 10 minutes on the other.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 31, 2017 in Treats

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
