RSS

Maruju Sushi on Centre Street YYC

18 Jul
Tuna, avocado, and mango 'tartar' from Maruju sushi on centre street just north of Chinatown in Calgary

Tuna, avocado, and mango ‘tartar’ from Maruju sushi on centre street just north of Chinatown in Calgary

There’s a meeting place I’ve been going to a lot lately, but I always seem to mis-time how long it will take for me to get there from work… so I always end up being 30-60 minutes earlier than I need to be. While normally I’ll pop over into Starbucks across the street… one time I stopped in at Maruju Sushi.

Maruju is another super-small little sushi place, (much my beloved MomoYama) with a kitchen in the back and sushi bar up front. They have a small set of booths, and everything else is little tables. Since I was dining alone, no problem!

I opted to try their Mango tartar (chopped mango, avocado, and tuna) – they did put a spicy sauce in it though which I thought unfortunately overpowered the delicate tuna flavour. ($10.25) It came with a touch of green as well, with the same spicy sauce on it. I didn’t think the sauce was a good match for the greens, but ate it all up anyways because I was hungry and it was there.. LOL

$2.95 Ikura from Maruju Sushi on center street just north of Chinatown in Calgary

$2.95 Ikura from Maruju Sushi on center street just north of Chinatown in Calgary

I also had an Ikura roll – though at just under $3/each.. .I only had one.

While the flavour of both was fine, I found the prices just TOO high. The tartar was NOT meal-size, it was probably about 150 grams..  While I wasn’t super-hungry when I visited.. I wouldn’t want to visit there with a big appetite. It would just be too expensive. 😦

The service was nice, the plating is beautiful (although one of my dishes was chipped) and the decor is simple and clean… but with two other (or more!) good sushi restaurants within a 5 minute walk, I’ll likely head somewhere else next time I’m running early for my meeting.

Maruju Sushi
919C CENTRE STREET NW
Calgary, Alberta, AB T2E 2P6

the a la carte menu at Maruju Sushi

the a la carte menu at Maruju Sushi – click for a larger version

 
 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
