RSS

All You Can Eat at The One Sushi

11 Jul
Yummy salmon and tuna sashimi from The One Sushi in Calgary on MacLeod Trail

Yummy salmon and tuna sashimi from The One Sushi in Calgary on MacLeod Trail

Ages ago I posted about The One Sushi – on MacLeod Trail, but I hadn’t been back since the accident where a car crashed into the restaurant. I was with someone who was in the mood for buffet-style food, and I wanted sushi (when DON’T I want sushi?) so we settled on checking out The One.

It was pretty quiet when we were there (weekday, early evening) so we got lots of attention from the server. The food came out bit by bit – my companion was a little sad when so much of my food came out before hers – but I appreciate that they don’t know who is eating what, and I would rather food come out when it’s ready, than all at once in this case.

Hot cooked dishes for my companion - chicken and tempura at The One sushi on Macleod Trail

Hot cooked dishes for my companion – chicken and tempura at The One sushi on Macleod Trail

You order off an iPad with a visual menu so it’s really easy to see what you’ll be getting. The only hiccup was trying to order ice cream at the end since it says something like “no menu”… but we COULD order it through the menu – the server just had to come over to confirm the flavour (chocolate for her, green tea for me).

She ordered cooked food mostly – chicken with sauce, assorted tempura, and then an order of yam tempura as well. I of course, had to steal just one piece of yam tempura while it was still hot…

I love yam tempura, but only when it’s hot – before it starts to taste oily…

Presentation isn’t quite as nice as it used to be – but the speed is still there which is good.

Since it’s all you can eat – it doesn’t matter if I stole some off her either (right?) because she could always order more!

For me.. I had the tuna and salmon sashimi pictured above – it was… ok. Definitely not as good as a lot of other sashimi I’ve had, but still good to get that fishy fix.

Assortment of dishes from The One sushi on Macleod Trail in Calgary (AYCE)

Assortment of dishes from The One sushi on Macleod Trail in Calgary (AYCE)

Have you been to The One sushi on MacLeod Trail lately? They seem to have expanded their menu since the last time I was there – at least with cooked dishes.

Assortment of dishes from The One sushi on Macleod Trail in Calgary (AYCE)

Assortment of dishes from The One sushi on Macleod Trail in Calgary (AYCE)

Some of the other dishes we had included:

  • pork dumplings (above top), which were pretty normal Chinese buffet fare
  • fried scallops (bottom left) which were a bit too hot and greasy for me
  • red bean paste balls which were also fried so I wasn’t a huge fan
  • seared beef which I thought was tasty, but a bit too chewy
  • and a fish egg hand roll! (That one was JUST for me!)
 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 11, 2017 in South-East Calgary, Sushi

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
