RSS

Guest bloggers wanted!

01 Jul
Inside Shiki Sushi in Victoria, BC

Inside Shiki Sushi in Victoria, BC

Now that I’m back in the swing of things, taking photos and writing up short posts about great places to eat in Calgary and beyond, I’d like to open up this blog to anyone who would like to join me!

I’m looking for a few guest bloggers – either those who want to write an article once in a while, who maybe want to write once a month, or even those who just want to share one or two things that really excite them!

How it works:

You write an unbiased (but hopefully positive!) article about a topic you think would interest our readers. Food, cooking, recipes, spotlights on new food-based businesses, or even a critical-thinking piece about food service/etc.

  • If you have a WordPress account, I can add you as a guest writer.
  • If not, you can email me your article and I’ll write an introduction for you, post your article, and link to your blog or website.

I’ll also need at least one nice, clear photo (sized for web please – I usually stick to about 600pixels on the long side at a dpi of 72 – if you don’t know what this means, feel free to send me your photo and I can edit it). Your watermark can absolutely be included… it’s your photo… I’m just publishing it here with your permission.

What you’ll get:

Watermelon, feta & mint salad at the Argyle Attic in Victoria, BC

Watermelon, feta & mint salad at the Argyle Attic in Victoria, BC

There’s no financial compensation here – what you’ll get for your efforts is one more tool to expose your blog or website to a new audience, and maybe make a new fan or two as well! It’s a great way to shine light on a business or product you adore. If you are looking for guest bloggers for your own blog, let me know… I can write about a LOT of different topics!

A caveat:

I’m not interested in sales pitches. If you just wrote a book of recipes, I’d love for you to share an article about developing recipes, taking food photos, or even just sharing a great recipe with us. I’m not looking for you to write a (glowing!) review of your book.

Likewise, if you work in a great restaurant, I’d love an insight into how to pour the perfect chai latte, or what it’s like from a server’s perspective when screaming kids come in. Did you just add a new item to the menu which is flying off the grill – share with us what made you put that item on the menu, or tell us about the months of trial-runs you had before that recipe was perfect…

Will your pop-up shop selling popcorn toppers be appearing at a local foodie market? Share information about the market with us! Let us know about the process of sharing your passion at markets and how it’s different from selling your product retail.

You get the gist.

Organic Cold 911 tea from David's Tea

Organic Cold 911 tea from David’s Tea

Interested?

Leave a comment below, or on my Facebook page and I’ll get back to you!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 1, 2017 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
