RSS

Agedashi tofu at home

30 Jun
Finished yummy Agedashi tofu!

Finished yummy Agedashi tofu!

A while back I posted on Instagram a photo of Agedashi tofu – I made it for dinner for me and a friend when he joked just one too many times about my inability to cook. (I CAN cook, I just don’t LIKE to cook usually…) His reaction to a dish that I think is quite nice (especially when someone else makes it) was “how come all of these things that aren’t fish, taste like fish?”

Mwaahaahaahaa

Using the blood orange EVOO to fry the tofu

Using the blood orange EVOO to fry the tofu

I first tried Agedashi tofu when out for sushi – rather than starting with gyoza or tempura, me and a friend started with something new to both of us – and we both loved it!

Mine is not nearly as crispy, because I pan-fry mine instead of deep frying, but the flavour is pretty much the same.

I made it again recently and figured I’d share a few photos. I started off by picking my oil… the last time I made it, I used the Persian Lime extra virgin olive oil from Eau Claire Oil & Vinegar Bar, but this time I opted for the Blood Orange EVOO instead. I think I preferred the lime personally – the orange was good, but I think the lime gave a more suitable flavour.

Frying the tofu. I usually cut it in cubes - and should have this time too.

Frying the tofu. I usually cut it in cubes – and should have this time too.

I cut my medium-firm tofu into long rectangles… rather than square cubes.

All the recipes suggest soft tofu, but when I’ve used that it ends up mushy… I use medium instead.

I liked the LOOK of this better, though it did mean getting an even fry in a pan was harder. Next time – back to cubes again. These I shook in a plastic container (gently) with the lid (firmly) on, in some cornstarch. I think in the restaurant they use a LOT more cornstarch than I do too. From there, into the hot pan they went to fry up. I also blot them off when they’re done, to take off the excess oil.

Topping off the tofu with Furikake seasoning

Topping off the tofu with Furikake seasoning

The broth is made of dashi, hot water, and mirin… though I didn’t have any mirin, so I skipped that and put in some soy sauce instead. Most of my cooking is somewhat improvisational. This MIGHT be why some people get a little nervous when they ask ‘what are you making?’ and I reply with “I donno. We’ll find out when I’m done.” (And by ‘people’ I mean my housemate mostly..)

For a less improvisational approach, Japanese Cooking 101 has an ACTUAL recipe.

I topped it off this time with a furikake seasoning. Previously I topped it with a different furikake seasoning and some dried bonito flakes. YUM!

Other toppings

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 30, 2017 in Sushi

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
