RSS

Sakana Grill in Calgary’s Chinatown

17 Jun
Salmon roe and chopped scallop rolls from Sakana Grill

Salmon roe and chopped scallop rolls from Sakana Grill

Back in late April, I met up with a friend after her work downtown – and we had hoped to go to Goro + Gun for dinner – but it was Sunday, and they were closed. So, we wandered over to Sakana Grill instead.

We had a really lovely dinner. I ordered a Salmon roe (Ikura) battleship sushi, a chopped scallop battleship sushi, and then one of the special rolls that isn’t on their regular menu – something called a Royal sushi roll.

The Royal sushi roll at Sakana Grill in Calgary's Chinatown

The Royal sushi roll at Sakana Grill in Calgary’s Chinatown

Before my roll came, our server also came by with four pieces of a spicy tuna roll as well – my friend  joked that perhaps it was so I didn’t go hungry (most of her meal had already come by that point).

Complementary spicy roll at Sakana Grill in Calgary's Chinatown

Complementary spicy roll at Sakana Grill in Calgary’s Chinatown

Of course, at the end of the night we also stocked up in their candy bar… taking jelly beans, mini chocolates, and (for me) sour soothers to fuel the hour-long walk we had to get to a friends house for an evening movie night.

Jelly beans and sour soothers from the candy bar at Sakana Grill in Calgary's Chinatown

Jelly beans and sour soothers from the candy bar at Sakana Grill in Calgary’s Chinatown

Sakana Grill
116 2 Ave SW,
Calgary, AB
T2P 3J9
(403) 290-1118

Come follow me on Facebook!

Screenshot from day one!

Screenshot from day one!

I’m working really hard to keep my Facebook page up and running with regular content – posts from my blog plus photos from my Instagram feed, posts of things that aren’t quite blog-worthy, and local foodie news. Come follow me!

 

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 17, 2017 in Downtown Calgary, Sushi

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
