RSS

Other dishes from a medieval pot-luck

03 Sep

In my last post I mentioned I’d be attending a pot-luck gathering, and was bringing some Viking Age desserts to share. Today I’ll share with you just a few of the other period food items some of the guests brought. I didn’t get photos of everything – things arrived bit by bit, and I wanted to eat too – plus the tables of food got crowded fast!😉

 


I think one of my favourite dishes was Björn’s 15th Century Herbelade, which contained pork, parsley, sage, hyssop, dates, currants, pine nuts, powdered ginger, eggs, butter, and flour (for the pie shell) though there were so many interesting and delicious things there that night! (And many things I missed out on, because I just didn’t have room in my happy belly!)

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 3, 2015 in North-East Calgary, Treats

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
