RSS

Nice Cream

23 Aug
Mixing up my Nice Cream order on the spot

Mixing up my Nice Cream order on the spot

There’s a new little ice cream shop in my neighbourhood, very near Sushi Hanami in the Sarcee Plaza shopping centre.

I popped in there in mid-August shortly after they opened with a friend, and gave a try to their ice cream.

When I went there, they only had four flavours on the menu – a salted caramel, a chocolate, a vanilla, and my choice, an Earl Grey.

Instead of traditional churned ice cream, Nice Cream uses liquid nitrogen to quickly freeze the freshly-mixed ingredients.

Learn more about making ice cream using liquid nitrogen here.

It’s an interesting, albeit faddish kind of idea, but the result is very tasty, smooth, and apparently less prone to those chunky ice crystals other ice creams can get if frozen too slowly. I only had a small size ($3.99 plus tax, with toppings extra) and it was very filling – I actually had to pause mid-way through my dessert, and pop my ice cream in the freezer when I got home – I couldn’t eat it all in one sitting. (Admittedly, I’d just had a great dinner at a nearby Indian place)

They’re so new, that I couldn’t find a website for them – and their Zomato (formerly UrbanSpoon) listing actually directs to a different location on 17th Avenue, but you can find them in the Sarcee Plaza, SW Calgary, near the Vietnamese place, close to Starbucks.
Click to add a blog post for Nice Cream on Zomato
Map

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 23, 2015 in South-West Calgary, Treats

 

Tags:

Leave a Reply

 
