RSS

Jamaican Jerk food truck

05 Nov
Jamaican Jerk Food Truck parked at MRU

Jamaican Jerk Food Truck parked at MRU

My lunchtime tweet when Jamaican Jerk came to the MRU campus got a lot of attention – probably because of the brightly coloured meal from the Jamaican Jerk food truck.

I’ve had some challenges with food trucks coming to campus – there’s a monthly schedule of when each truck is coming to campus, but there seem to be more that miss their spots than those who make it – so it’s starting to be harder to see them – and I’ve been tweeting them in advance to make sure they’ll actually be there!

Their website doesn’t have a menu, and their UrbanSpoon entry is pretty under-developed too, so I didn’t have a lot to go from when checking them out in advance. They had Jerk Chicken, Jerk Popcorn Shrimp for main dishes, along with a bunch of sides – I picked the mango coleslaw and the festivals. Other options included fried plantains, hardo bread, rice and peas, and jerk fries.

The meal came with two containers of sauce – without it the chicken didn’t really have any flavour. The chicken was … well… not to my taste. It was charred (ew) and normally I just eat chicken breast, so all the bones and things kind of didn’t really do it for me. The coleslaw was ok, but had way too much onion in it. The bread was good – very much like cornbread.

Overall – although it made for a great photo – I didn’t like my meal from Jamaican Jerk – I probably wouldn’t order a meal there again. Not a big deal though – I chatted with them on Twitter and it turns out that they had to miss their late October date, and won’t be back to the MRU campus until the spring….

The Jamaican Jerk on Urbanspoon

 
2 Comments

Posted by on November 5, 2014 in Food Trucks, South-West Calgary

 

Tags: , , , ,

2 responses to “Jamaican Jerk food truck

  1. Denise N. Fyffe, Writer

    November 6, 2014 at 10:23 am

    It is unfortunate that that was your experience…those meals should have wowed you and would have if you were in Jamaica.

     
    • Dawn

      November 18, 2014 at 10:14 am

      I’ve never been to Jamaica unfortunately, but I imagine you’re correct! If not for the skill of the chefs, but also the availability of spices being more common, etc…

       

Leave a Reply

 
