RSS

Iceland confectionary

03 Nov
Giving "sugar skull" a new look - skull-shaped candies in Grýtubakkahreppur

Giving “sugar skull” a new look – skull-shaped candies in Grýtubakkahreppur

So here’s another short, kind of boring post while you await my latest holiday treats… this time it’s candy from Iceland (from my July 2014 trip.. yes.. I took THAT many photos..)

Our tour guide said that when he was a child it was rare to have a lot of sweets, but that the country had made up for it, and now plenty is available.  Since my own preferences are for licorice and chocolate, I didn’t try too many things – but here’s some of what we did try!


So glad to see Turkisk Pebars – I fell in love (obsession) with these in Finland, so of course I wanted the familiar flavour on our trip!
We also tried these lovely “Prince Polo” wafer cookies while in one of our hotels.

Those skull-shaped candies above? They were in a bulk bin (scoop style, not pour style) so I opted not to try them… but they sure look cool!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on November 3, 2014 in Out of town - Europe, Treats

 

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “Iceland confectionary

  1. Jennifer

    November 18, 2014 at 10:42 am

    I LOVE the little skulls! I tried to pin it to my skulls pinterest board but Pinterest still isn’t working on my iPad. Are you on Pinterest?

     

Leave a Reply

 
