RSS

Famoso Neapolitan Pizzeria

05 Oct
Famoso Neapolitan Pizzeria pizza

Famoso Neapolitan Pizzeria pizza

The main reason I visited Famoso Neapolitan Pizzeria in Westhills was because I received a coupon for a free pizza in the mailbox, and the restaurant is very close to my home and regular route. I’m not a huge fan of pizza (I can hear the horrified gasps from here…) but free food is free food – right? (One of the top 20 parts of my job is that we regularly get free food!)

Famoso Neapolitan Pizzeria order sheet

Famoso Neapolitan Pizzeria order sheet

The ordering system/service at Famoso Neapolitan Pizzeria involves seating yourself, filling out your order form, bringing it up to the counter, and then a server will bring the meal. I found the seating arrangement kind of strange for that – for a ‘place your order’ I would have expected a different layout; the system seems like a response to lack of staffing, rather than design.

The free pizza that they were offering was their Margherita Pizza (regularly $12.00) which is just “Fior-di-latte, fresh basil, pecorino romano, & extra virgin olive oil”. I think places offering freebies usually take one of two routes. Either they offer up their cheapest, smallest, simplest offering – with the knowledge you’ll order more to round out your experience and thus they’ll get you to purchase more… OR they offer up the item that really highlights the best of the best of what they have to offer. I opted to hope for the best, so although you can add cherry tomatoes, roasted mushrooms, anchovies, or kalamata or green olives for an extra $1.50 each, I figured let’s give this a try as-is…

Famoso Neapolitan Pizzeria salad

Famoso Neapolitan Pizzeria salad

In addition to our pizza, we ordered a salad to share. We had the Gorgonzola salad ($13.00) which is “Romaine lettuce, gorgonzola cheese, walnuts, semi-dried cranberries, gorgonzola walnut vinaigrette”. By “vinaigrette” they must mean “drowning in oil” because it was. It was pretty much inedible because of the sheer amount of oil surrounding everything. Skip the salad – or insist at least that they put their oil on the side. Pretty terrible actually (I didn’t eat all of my half, and was tempted to pat off each piece of lettuce with a napkin..).

The pizza was a bit better – but not by much. The pizza was just bland. The crust was burnt on the bottom in several places which made the whole thing taste burnt to me, and the few shriveled up pieces of basil didn’t really give the flavour I would expect. I piled on the dry (not fresh) cheese to try to add some extra flavour. Not terrible, just boring. Skip the pizza would be my recommendation.

Go there for the Gelato

Famoso Neapolitan Pizzeria gelato

Famoso Neapolitan Pizzeria gelato

If I could title this blog post with something other than the name of the pizzeria – it would be “go there for the gelato”.  Really – the gelato is fantastic!

I had the chocolate-hazelnut flavour, while my companion had the salted caramel. We both tried one another’s too, and both were great – but I liked mine best and she liked hers best too…

The gelato is so good, I’d suggest going there just to get a scoop – I wonder if they have it to go?

(The Gelato is from Fiasco Gelato by the way, which you can pick up to-go from Co-op grocery, Sunterra market, Bite Groceria, and a number of other locations.)

Service

To speak of service… well there really isn’t any. One person explains their “fill out the form” system, another worked at the counter, another two or three brought dishes out… no one was really available to give recommendations, no one checked if the meal was to our liking. Take out pizza but you get to overhear other people’s conversation and watch the football game on their TV.

As I mentioned we went because we had a coupon – but when we went to pay the person who had taken our coupon had forgotten to add it against our bill, which meant there was some kerfuffle to try to sort that out too.

Overall – skip the meal and go straight to the gelato!

Famoso Neapolitan Pizzeria
125 Stewart Green SW
Calgary, AB
(403) 242-2222

Famoso Neapolitan Pizzeria (Westhills) on Urbanspoon

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 5, 2014 in South-West Calgary, Treats

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
