RSS

Happy Sushi Bellies… in Iceland?

18 Jul

That’s right – Happy Sushi Belly is heading to Iceland! (Or rather, one-half of the Happy Sushi Belly team, Dawn, is heading to Iceland)

This means a few things.. of course it means that I might not have as many updates and posts for Happy Sushi Belly while I’m away, but it also means that when I return I hope to have lots of delicious things to share with you!

Iceland as a destination

Iceland seems to be a destination with growing popularity – possibly due in part to direct flights from several Canadian cities (Toronto, Halifax, Edmonton and Vancouver right now.. hopefully with more coming soon through Iceland Air) and it’s also a popular stop-over location with connections to many major European destinations. I know a few people who have taken a 2 or 3 day stopover in Iceland before heading on to other European destinations.

For film buffs, Iceland has also stood in for a number of locations for films like Beowulf & Grendel, Batman Begins, James Bond: Die Another Day, James Bond: A View to Kill, Journey to the Center of the Earth, Lara Croft: Tomb Raider, Noah, Prometheus, The Secret Life of Walter Mitty, Thor: The Dark World, Star Trek: Into Darkness, Star Wars Episode VII, and many more. (Check out this short list with video clips on the Iceland Travel Guide)

Even better, everything that happens “north of the wall” is filmed in Iceland for the tv series Game of Thrones. (No, I won’t be looking for Jon Snow during my trip…. he doesn’t know nothing.. about sushi.😉 )

Iceland sushi

Since seafood is a huge part of the island’s economy, of course I had to look up to see what the best sushi is in Iceland! I’ll be spending a number of days in the capital Reykjavik, but also some time in Akureyri, and other towns.  I checked out I❤ Reykjavik, and her top three sushi places in the capital, and am pretty convinced that Fiskfélagið / The Fish Company should be top on my must-visit list too! (As long as I can convince my travel companion to come for some tasty fish! Like Auður’s boyfriend, my travel companion would probably prefer one of the famous Iceland hot dogs from Bæjarins Beztu instead.)

Wanderlust

Of course, this isn’t the first time I’ve traveled and shared some of my travel-treats with the readers of Happy Sushi Belly, check out some of my other travels:

I also have a few other travel plans, as does Connie for the rest of this year… so hopefully we’ll have lots to share with you!

Recommendations

If you’ve traveled to Iceland (or if you live there!) what sights would you recommend checking out, and what dishes should we try while there? Let us know in the comments below!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 18, 2014 in Out of town - Europe, Sushi

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
