RSS

Midori on 17th

15 Jun
Rainbow sushi roll and mushroom roll from Midori on 17th Avenue in Calgary

Rainbow sushi roll and mushroom roll from Midori on 17th Avenue in Calgary

It’s actually a bit shocking that it has taken me this long to blog about Midori, a tiny little 17th Avenue SW standard for quick sushi. After Kyoto 17 (back in the day…) it was one of my favourite places to go when I needed a sushi fix while shopping or visiting with friends when I first discovered sushi.

But… then things seemed to change. I sought out more places to dine, and when I went to Midori I found myself uninspired by their menu or disappointed in their quality. It was several years since I’d been there last; until recently when a friend and I headed there for dinner after meeting with a number of friends for coffee.

Midori is a tiny little place, and it was nearly full when we arrived, and nearly full when we finished our meal as well. The menu wasn’t overly inspiring, but I selected a rainbow roll (good, but nothing special) and a shitake mushroom roll (great flavour, but the roll was falling apart on the plate).

Two sushi rolls from Midori on 17th Avenue in Calgary

Two sushi rolls from Midori on 17th Avenue in Calgary

The food was ok, the service felt more like fast-food than dining, and the atmosphere was… fine. As much as I loved Midori years ago – I wasn’t impressed. I wasn’t disappointed either, but there just wasn’t anything that really thrilled me like it used to. Next time I’m on 17th looking for a quick after-coffee nosh, I’ll probably head to Crepes and Cravings instead… (shocking! Choosing something over sushi!)

Midori Japanese Cafe
1054 17 Ave SW
Calgary, AB T2T0B4
(403) 244-3787

Midori Japanese Cafe on Urbanspoon

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 15, 2014 in South-West Calgary, Sushi

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
