RSS

Sushi: Island Gourmet

13 Mar

Take - out sushi from the Island Gourmet (tuna and salmon sushi)

Take – out sushi from the Island Gourmet (tuna and salmon sushi)

While in Hawaii, I stopped in at the Island Gourmet Market near our hotel. Island Gourmet Market is an ABC store, but they have a decent deli section with ready-made sandwiches, pies, bento boxes… and sushi! (Plus drinks, ice cream, produce, and packaged food.) While my companion went for some chicken breasts and pasta salad, I grabbed a box of nigiri sushi and a box of rolls.

Take - out sushi from the Island Gourmet (veg roll)

Take – out sushi from the Island Gourmet (veg roll)

My companion said her chicken wasn’t great (too dry) but I thought my salmon and tuna nigiri sushi was pretty good (for take-out, fast-food sushi…) and the pickled daikon radish ‘oshinko’ roll was good, with the regular sweet-and-sour crunch that I’d expect. It’s not a diverse and interesting roll, but I figured I’d go for pieces that would be less challenging than some of the sauce-heavy offerings (which I worried would be soggy or too strong…).

It’s not as good as some of the take-out, fast-food sushi I’ve tried in the past, but it’s not bad….
For more fast-food sushi, follow the Fast-Food sushi tag! If you want to see some of the other options in Hawaii, visit the Hawaii tag too!

Island Gourmet Market
69-201 Waikoloa Beach Dr,
Waikoloa Village, HI 96738, United States
+1 808-886-3577

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 13, 2014 in Out of town - USA, Sushi

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
