RSS

Sushi: Genki in Kona

11 Mar
Agedashi Tofu at Genki Sushi in Kona, Hawaii

Agedashi Tofu at Genki Sushi in Kona, Hawaii

As I mentioned in my previous post, I recently visited the Big Island of Hawaii. While I was there, I had dinner once more at the ‘fast-food’, conveyor belt-style sushi chain, Genki Sushi. This time I visited their location in Kona. To read more about my food experiences in Hawaii, please click the Hawaii tag!

Menu at Genki Sushi in Kona, Hawaii

Menu at Genki Sushi in Kona, Hawaii

Like a lot of conveyor-belt places, there was a menu which we could order off of, as well as taking items from the belt. I did order a few things, and while I was waiting for them to arrive I took a spicy tuna “volcano” roll from the belt. Usually I find the items on the belt to be of lower quality than the ordered items, but this was actually pretty good!

Spicy tuna 'volcano' at Genki Sushi in Kona, Hawaii

Spicy tuna ‘volcano’ at Genki Sushi in Kona, Hawaii

Of course I had to order the Ikura…. (they were ok – not spectacular, but also not bad.)

Ikura at Genki Sushi in Kona, Hawaii

Ikura at Genki Sushi in Kona, Hawaii

…and I placed an order for Agedashi Tofu as well. (It really needed a lot more flavourful sauce for my liking.)

Agedashi Tofu at Genki Sushi in Kona, Hawaii

Agedashi Tofu at Genki Sushi in Kona, Hawaii

I also ordered Tobiko as well… (also just fine)

Genki Sushi in Kona, Hawaii

Genki Sushi in Kona, Hawaii

… and finally I also had the chopped scallop roll – which like the other items, was just fine.

Chopped scallop roll at Genki Sushi in Kona, Hawaii

Chopped scallop roll at Genki Sushi in Kona, Hawaii

My non-sushi-loving companion had the teriyaki chicken bowl (which she said was fine, and a decent price for quite a bit of food) and a plate of stuffed mushrooms (which seemed to be stuffed with volcano sauce, mushroom, and crab meat) which she said were fantastic. I really expected her to take a second plate of them off the belt!

Genki Sushi
74-5450 Makala Blvd #202,
Kailua-Kona, HI 96740, United States
+1 808-327-6776

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 11, 2014 in Out of town - USA, Sushi

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
