RSS

Tea: Organic North African Mint

09 Mar
David's Teas Organic North African Mint loose leaf tea

David’s Teas Organic North African Mint loose leaf tea

Even if you don’t usually like green teas, I think you might like this green tea from David’s Tea.

I tried this tea recently when it popped out of the holiday crackers I mentioned in my pre-holiday post.  Both myself and the other person I pulled the cracker with both got North African Mint, and it was only a few weeks later when I realized that I had this tea already – it was one of the (many) I had taken to work!

I mentioned this tea when I reviewed Crème de menthe Pu’erh, and actually had thought perhaps I had reviewed it already! I picked it up, hoping it would be similar to the Casablanca tea I bought at Silk Road in Victoria. It isn’t.. but it’s just as good!

David's Teas Organic North African Mint loose leaf tea

David’s Teas Organic North African Mint loose leaf tea

David’s Tea describes this tea as an “intense combination of spices and mint. It combines organic green tea and peppermint with organic cardamom, ginger, licorice root, fennel clove and black pepper.” To me, it has that great taste of peppermint mixing with a spiciness that reminds me of chai tea. It’s delicious, and has that same rich complexity that chai tea does. Mind you, if you’re a green-tea purist, you might find all of the additional flavours really overpower the green tea. I’m not a fan of green teas most of the time, and I can only barely taste the green tea (and can’t smell it at all) which is a bonus in my books, but might not be for everyone. I also found this tea quite sweet (likely because of the peppermint and licorice) which also might not be everyone’s ‘cup of tea’ (har har) though if you’ve read a few of my reviews, you’ll know I do like a sweet cuppa.

A few more thoughts

Photographer Danica Staudt also tried the Organic North African Mint in a tea advent calendar. An aquaintance of mine tried the calendar this year too, and it was so fun reading his witty comments on Facebook about all of the teas he got to try (some rants, some raves!)

On The Tea Connoisseur blog, Stacey, Lorie, and Brooke just couldn’t agree on this one – with scores on the tea ranging from 5/10 to 7.5/10.

The blogger at The Best Cup of Tea also reviewed North African Mint – go take a read and see what they have to say!

Welcome back!

You might have noticed I took a bit of time off from blogging over the past few weeks – I was on vacation in Hawaii (again!) and wasn’t posting while away. However, I was dining – and had some great tastes I can’t wait to share with you in the next few weeks!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 9, 2014 in South-East Calgary, Tea & Beverages

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
