RSS

Tea: Ceylon Star from David’s Tea

28 Dec

With star anise as a major ingredient, I was really excited to try Ceylon Star from David’s Teas when it first came out… but when I went to check it out in-store, the dry scent just didn’t appeal to me. Then, a while ago I received a sample of the tea, which gave me a great chance to give it a taste – commitment-free.

Ceylon Star black tea from David's Tea

Ceylon Star black tea from David’s Tea

Keep reading for my mini review!

Starting out with Ceylon black tea, the additional ingredients are star anise, cocoa, white chocolate, coconut, and then natural and artificial flavouring. Dry, the tea REALLY smells like a mate tea. There’s an intense smokey-bitter scent to it.

I’d hoped that the star anise would have a licorice flavour, but when I steeped up the tea, the bitter scent mellowed out nicely. The taste on the other hand, was nothing special.  On Steepster they have a really gorgeous photo of this tea, with a whole star anise topping off the mix, and reviewers say that they could taste the coconut, chocolate, and licorice flavour delivered by the anise. I couldn’t taste any of those flavours in the tea – it was pleasant, but really nothing more than a lot of other nice black teas.

With so many good reviews on Steepster, I would actually consider getting a small amount again, to see if maybe the sample I had was just a bad sample…

A few more reviews

I looked around for a few other reviews, and found that most people liked this tea a lot more than I did. Little Me in the Big D posted about it along with Brazillionaire (which I also recieved a sample of too, and hopefully can try and review soon as well).

Browsing bookshelves also did a quick, positive review of Ceylon Star, at the same time offering a review of The Name of the Wind. What a great blog concept!

So, what about your review? If you’ve tried this tea, let us know what you thought in the comments below!

 
4 Comments

Posted by on December 28, 2013 in South-West Calgary, Tea & Beverages

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Tea: Ceylon Star from David’s Tea

  1. Natalie @ Browsing Bookshelves

    December 29, 2013 at 7:57 pm

    It’s too bad that you didn’t enjoy Ceylon Star as much as you had hoped after reading all those positive reviews! Thanks for tagging my blog to your post🙂

     
    • Dawn

      January 10, 2014 at 4:23 pm

      I agree! Though, there have been a few teas that I’ve loved that have had generally negative reviews, while others have had great reviews and I’ve been ambivalent about the teas themselves…
      I know that I have a bias towards creamy/sweet/soothing teas, and fruity teas – where as Connie really likes the bright crisp flavours – so hopefully together we give a well-rounded offering! You’re welcome for the ping – I think your blog concept is really interesting!🙂

       
  2. painchri589

    August 17, 2014 at 4:06 pm

    I loved Ceylon star I picked up a bag when they were on for $3!

     
    • Dawn

      August 22, 2014 at 7:22 pm

      $3 is a good deal!!

       

Leave a Reply

 
