RSS

Silk Road in Amsterdam

14 Dec
One of the canals in Amsterdam

One of the canals in Amsterdam

When I was writing about the Capture the Colour contest, I was reminded about the dining experiences I had when in Europe last year. I had taken the photos, but near the end of my trip I became ill (actually having to cut my trip short by a few weeks) and so likely I never got around to posting about the trip and the delicious things I had because I had a recovery period after returning home.

Well, with the reminder to myself, I wanted to share with you a little about Silk Road in Amsterdam.

Located in the Movenpick hotel, we honestly chose this simply because it was so incredibly close to where we were staying, and after a long flight (Calgary -> London -> Amsterdam) we weren’t in the mood for wandering too far before getting some real (non-airline) food in our stomachs.

Dinner at Silk Road in Amsterdam

Dinner at Silk Road in Amsterdam

My companion went with the “Brochette Easy Rider” at 18.50 € which included a mixed grill skewer with a tomato, bacon, pepper, and mushroom sauce over a bed of rice.

Dinner at Silk Road in Amsterdam

Dinner at Silk Road in Amsterdam

For me, I just went with a simple wrap – I think for sure my companion had a more interesting meal!

The location was fantastic though for our cruise the next day – we just walked down the street and was at the port! Unfortunately, the area didn’t seem to have a lot of places to dine within sight. Really though, we weren’t looking around a lot. We were mostly focusing on recovering from the travel (I can never sleep on a flight) and getting ready for the cruise the next day!

Dinner at Silk Road in Amsterdam

Dinner at Silk Road in Amsterdam

Silk Road Restaurant
Piet Heinkade 11, 1019 BR
Amsterdam, Nederland

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 14, 2013 in Out of town - Europe

 

Tags:

Leave a Reply

 
