RSS

Capture the Colour contest 2013

29 Sep
Capture the Colour contest 2013

While I was reading about the Luv Mex Avocado contest yesterday, I came across the Capture the Colour contest hosted by the Travel Supermarket.

Launched in the summer of 2012, the 2013 edition of the contest has a simple idea – “publish a blog post showcasing five of your favourite travel photographs which best capture the colour of our five categories: red, blue, green, yellow and white.” In 2012 they received over 3,000 entries encapsulating the most colourful travel experiences, and this year I learned about the contest and want to enter too!

My entries

Scroll through the slideshow below to see all of my entries, and then scroll down for the individual photos and descriptions.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Yellow

Capture the Colour - Yellow - fortress island of Suomenlinna off the coast of Helsinki, Finland

Capture the Colour – Yellow – fortress island of Suomenlinna off the coast of Helsinki, Finland

Many of you who have been reading Happy Sushi Belly have seen some of my photos of Finland, and my entry for the ‘yellow’ category is one of my most recent photos – from Finland! A lovely bird came to sit on the bridge as we crossed from one island to another on the fortress island of Suomenlinna. The yellow building in the background is a residential building, and you can check out all of my delicious posts about the fortress island by clicking the Suomenlinna tag. (More coming in a few days too!)

Green

Capture the Colour - Green, at the Muttart Conservatory in Edmonton, Canada

Capture the Colour – Green, at the Muttart Conservatory in Edmonton, Canada

Of the photos I looked through, seeking out “green” I didn’t have to look too far from home. In Edmonton’s Muttart Conservatory, I loved this lush, green moss in the Temperate gallery. Click the Edmonton tag for our posts about the delicious treats and sushi I’ve had in Edmonton.

Blue

Capture the Colour - Blue - jellyfish at an aquarium in Maui, USA

Capture the Colour – Blue – jellyfish at an aquarium in Maui, USA

I looked through a few of my different photographs, but best of all showing “blue” I thought was this photograph of jellyfish. This photo was taken on the island of Maui in the state of Hawaii, at the Maui Ocean Center, The Hawaiian Aquarium. I loved this tall aquarium full of jellyfish – I could watch them for hours, floating and moving hypnotically through the water.  Of course, while in Hawaii I tried lots of sushi and local dishes too – click the Hawaii tag for all of my travelling foodie posts about the beautiful islands.

White

Capture the Colour - White - near Geiranger, Norway

Capture the Colour – White – near Geiranger, Norway

My entry into the “white” category is from my 2012 trip to Norway. We started our trip by flying to London, UK, and then flew to Amsterdamn, The Netherlands. From there we took a Royal Carribean cruise. This shot is from a stop in Geiranger, Norway. In town we took a bus tour which took us up a long and winding road (the north and south sides of route 63), to an alpine lake called Djupvatnet high in the mountains. Although it was early summer, there was a thick blanket of snow, and someone had even crafted a tiny snow bunny looking out onto the snow and ice-covered lake.

Shockingly, I haven’t blogged at all about the cruise or the foods we enjoyed in Norway – I guess I know what I’ll be blogging about when my Finland posts are done!

Red

Capture the Colour - Red - at 3 Valley Gap, Canada

Capture the Colour – Red – at 3 Valley Gap, Canada

For my “red” entry I decided to select a tilt-shift photo. Now, I don’t have a tilt-shift lens, so this image has been edited through a website called TiltShiftMaker.com. The contest rules say “We are tolerant of image editing and will allow images to be edited with software as we do not wish to inhibit your creative freedom. Entries will be judged on a case by case basis” so I hope that this editing is ok! (I figure since it replicates something that I ~could~ do with a lens, if I had the money to invest in such a lens, that it should be ok!)

This photo is of the resort at 3 Valley Gap, close to Revelstoke, British Columbia, Canada. This shot was actually taken from our car – we didn’t have the chance to stop here, but instead you can read other posts about great places to eat in British Columbia by checking out the BC category.

More contest details

The contest will be judged by a panel of five leading travel and photography experts. Five individual category winners can choose from one of three awesome prizes (an iPad, a Fuji camera, or a Arc’teryx shopping voucher) and an overall winner will receive a huge £3,000 travel fund. I know that if I won… that would go directly into one of my next travel destinations – L’Anse aux Meadows in the summer of 2014, and then either back to Finland or to the Faroe Islands in the summer of 2015!

You be the judge!

So, which of the photos that I have entered do you like the best? Let me know in the comments below! Want to see the other entries? Check out the #CTC13 twitter hashtag for other bloggers sharing their travel photos! (note: it looks like there’s a conference using the same hashtag, so don’t get confused!)

Nominations

We’re also supposed to nominate others to join in the fun, so I’m nominating:

Connie Chau Arts
Throwing Horns Abroad
DDD
Boing Photography
300 pounds of metal

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
