RSS

Tea: Goji Pop

15 Aug

I’m going to interupt some of my Finland posts for a little bit. Now that I’m well back in Calgary and have settled into my regular non-vacationing routine, it’s back to tea, sushi, and the other goodies that make my belly happy!

Since it’s summer, I’ve found myself drinking a lot less tea, especially at work where my office has very poor air circulation and it can get pretty warm.   Of course, this means that I have to change up my tea routine and select something to have as iced tea instead.

Davids Tea Goji Pop just seems to be meant for drinking iced!  Described as a “hot pink tea fill ed with sweet, sweet goji berries, rosehips, citrusy lemon olil,  apple, melon, marigold and hibiscus.  It’s probably the most delicious longevity formula ever.  Which is key, since you’ll be popping it for the next two centuries. Caffeine-free“.  The site lists the ingredients as: “Apple, goji berries, hibiscus, rosehips, honeydew melon, marigold petals With artificial flavouring”

Goji Pop tea

Goji Pop tea

The package recommended brewing up the tea extra strong, and simply pouring it over a glass full of ice when it was ready.  I did exactly that, though I took a sip while it was hot too….

Goji Pop tea

Goji Pop tea

Hot, it didnt’ strike me as anyting special.  Already the taste was really weak.  Poured over ice, it wasn’t much better – a slight apple flavour, but only after I added some sweetener.

I tried another glass a few days later and used way more tea (pretty much filling up my Tuffy strainer to the top) and the result was similar.  The iced tea was vaguely fruity, with the most dominant taste to me being the apple, but not really the POP of flavour that I was looking for.  It’s not like I waited for all the ice to melt and water-down the flavour either… it’s just not an especially flavourful tea. Luckily I didn’t mind the goji beries, as normally I don’t really like them.

There are a lot of teas that taste great iced or hot, and I wouldn’t recommend this one – even with twice as much tea as i usually use (which means twice the per-cup price too…) there still wasn’t a lot of flavour.

What’s your favourite?

What’s your favourite tea to drink iced? Let us know in the comments below!  While you’re at it… who’s going to Taste of Calgary today? I posted about it a few days back if you missed the post, but it starts today!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on August 15, 2013 in South-East Calgary, Tea & Beverages

 

Tags: , , , ,

2 responses to “Tea: Goji Pop

  1. Valeria Arscott

    November 5, 2014 at 4:26 pm

    Fascinating blog! Is your theme custom made or did you download it from somewhere?

    A theme like yours with a few simple adjustements would really make my blog stand out.

    Please let me know where you got your design. Kudos

     
    • Dawn

      November 18, 2014 at 10:37 am

      HI there,
      If you scroll down to the very end of this page, you’ll see it’s the Choco Theme and there’s a link for you to follow to use it too if you’re on WordPress.
      Good luck!

       

Leave a Reply

 
