RSS

Tea: Salted Caramel

31 Jul

I picked up Salted Caramel from David’s tea primarily for my mum, who loves all things caramel, butterscotch and toffee… me – I prefer the chocolate side of life, but I’ve enjoyed a nice little salted caramel once or twice…(especially when dipped in chocolate!).

Dry, the tea has a distinct smoky scent. I wouldn’t really say that it smells like caramel at all, though there is a slight hint of sweetness.  Steeped up, the smoky scent continues, though with a little sweetener and milk, the sweetness comes out too. The tea had a lot of fannings in it though which was disappointing – the tea leaves themselves in my strainer were very small, accompanied by very finely shredded toasted coconut, and one or two little cubes of toffee.  The limited amount of toffee actually in the tea (and the sugars it brings with it) probably explain why the tea neither smells, nor really tastes, of toffee.

The ingredients for this tea are Black tea, coconut, caramel, English toffee, sea salt, and flavouring. Allergens include dairy, nuts, coconut, and soy.  I don’t really know where my caramel or sea salt went to – I couldn’t see either in the dry tea at all.

Salted Caramel tea from David's Tea

Salted Caramel tea from David’s Tea

So, finally, the taste…

With sweetener and milk, I found the tea a slightly creamier, sweeter tea with a bit of complexity above a regular unflavoured black tea. However the distinction is minimal, there really isn’t a lot of additional flavour in this tea.  The black tea and toasted coconut are balanced with the toffee and caramel pretty well so that none of the flavours really jump out. This is good for some, and disappointing for others who might expect a bolder caramel taste.

Like some of the other teas I’ve reviewed, I’d recommend this more for those who want a slight update from their regular pot of black tea, more for those who like bold, exciting new flavours. (Oh, and my mum didn’t like the smokiness at all….) 😦

Salted Caramel tea from David's Tea

Salted Caramel tea from David’s Tea

 
2 Comments

Posted by on July 31, 2013 in South-West Calgary, Tea & Beverages

 

Tags: , , , , ,

2 responses to “Tea: Salted Caramel

  1. Tunes'N'Tea

    August 5, 2013 at 3:45 pm

    Out of curiosity how did you brew the tea? In a tea pot or on the stove top chai style. I found that when I brewed it chai style for 5 minuets it was a bit stronger in flavor.

     
    • Dawn

      August 7, 2013 at 8:00 pm

      Good tip – I rarely do my teas stove top style (except of course, for chai) so that might be the trick to getting good flavour out of it. Thanks!

       

Leave a Reply

 
