RSS

Tea: Pom Tango

02 Jul

I popped into David’s Tea in March (on my way back from a Kumihimo braiding class and though I’d sample one of their spring teas.  Of the two that appealed to me by name, I ended up picking Pom Tango, though I only got a small (50 gram) package.

The look of the tea is awesome – though for those of you who use tea balls or slotted tea spoons for your tea, you’ll have some extra work to do – the tea has HUGE pieces of fruit which would provide a challenge.  The smell is also amazing – it smells super fruity – mostly a scent of mango (and maybe a slight scent of pear and berries?) so I hoped that the taste would translate into the tea as well….

Pom Tango

Pom Tango

Steeping up, the tea smelled less wonderful (and having lived for a week in my purse, there was some crushing involved that resulted in some fannings) but still ok.  There was still a fruity smell, but also something vaguely acidic – sort of a yummy smell to start, with a bit of a harsh ‘after-smell’.  (Is that a thing?)

Without sweetener, the tea was ok – a black tea with a slightly fruity taste. However, since I usually add sweetener, I gave it a second chance, and the fruit flavour exploded! The sweetener definitely helped bring out all the fruity flavour. The end result is very much like the smell of the dry tea – lots of mango flavour with a bit of a berry or pear flavour as well, and a bit of the black tea smokiness.

Pom Tango

Pom Tango

The David’s Tea website describes the tea as a “cross between your favourite breakfast tea and the best juice ever” and excellent either hot or cold (hmm I will have to try it iced soon too!) and it contains mango cubes, black tea (though it doesn’t indicate the country of origin), pomegranate seeds, and artificial flavouring. There isn’t a lot of black tea in this one, so it’s rated being low in caffeine.

I’d highly recommend giving Pom Tango a try if you like fruity teas – and I hope it’s just as good chilled!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 2, 2013 in South-East Calgary, Tea & Beverages

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
