RSS

Tea: Creme Caramel Rooibos

04 Jun

Creme Caramel Rooibos from David’s tea is one of the last teas left from the caffeine-free collection I received during the holidays. I actually thought that I had tried it before, but it looks like if I did, I didn’t record it in Happy Sushi Belly, so here’s a quick review of it too!

Creme Caramel Rooibos

Creme Caramel Rooibos

The tea’s initial scent follows through to the steeping scent and the taste of the tea itself – there is the slight caramel sweetness along with the scent and taste of rooibos ‘tea’.  The liquor is dark and rich, but the dry tea is pretty boring to look at – not chips of caramel, no petals of flowers, nothing textural really other than just the little reddish ‘leaves’.  The ingredient listing includes rooibos tea along with caramel pieces and artificial flavouring – but I didn’t really see any of those caramel pieces, so presume that much of the caramel flavour came from artificial means (unless the caramel was ground up very fine..)

Creme Caramel Rooibos

Creme Caramel Rooibos

Without sweetener, I really didn’t think that this tea was much of anything at all.  I shared it with a friend who usually doesn’t sweeten her tea, and she could taste the caramel flavour, however on a second cup, added sweetener to enhance the flavour.  With sweetener, I could definitely taste the warm, sweet, vaguely creamy taste of caramel in the tea.  We got five cups of tea out of the sample and it wasn’t starting to taste exhausted yet, which makes it a great tea for a big pot of tea… so this is one I might pick up more of … when I have a little more room in my tea cupboard!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 4, 2013 in Tea & Beverages

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
