RSS

Tea: Sleigh Ride

12 Apr

When I first opened the tiny container (part of a package of many small containers of tea) from David’s Tea of Sleigh Ride, the scent (and to a smaller extent even appearance) reminded me instantly of Forever Nuts. I love Forever Nuts – it’s a great tea with a bright pink-red hue that is instantly both warm and cheery.  I expected, based on scent alone for this tea to be similar to Forever Nuts, but perhaps with some minor change to give it the wintery name.  Perhaps a touch of peppermint to remind me of breathing in cold, crisp air, or cranberry making me think of turkey dinner…

Visually, Sleigh Ride is fun to look at, with large chunks of stuff (I didn’t bother reading the ingredient listing before steeping up my tea) and small pieces of popped popcorn – not too different from Gen Mai Cha (aka Popcorn tea) but a herbal alternative.  I imagined the tea to be warm and soothing.  The big chunk of cinnamon stick teased me with the promise of sweet-spicy flavour.

Sleigh Ride

Sleigh Ride

Steeping the tea – the beetroot in the ingredients became incredibly obvious.  Like Forever Nuts and Red Velvet Cake, the beetroot gives the tea a bright pink-red colour almost instantly as the water swirls around the ‘tea’ in the strainer/infuser.  The smell, well, once again it smelled a lot like a slightly spicer version of Forever Nuts.

Sleigh Ride

Sleigh Ride

Unfortunately the taste on the first infusion was not Forever Nuts.  (Don’t worry, I have a big tin of Forever Nuts in my tea stash; I won’t be disapointed long…) I would say the first infusion was overly complex.  I was picking up a sweet, juicy, fruity taste to start, then the spice, then something mellow and nutty in the background.  It was pleasent enough, but just too many different flavours for me.

The second infusion was a bit better – returning closer to the taste I had been expecting; the mellow, warm, slightly spicy flavour I had anticipated from the scent of the dry ‘tea’. Unfortunatly by the third infusion the tea was nearly exhausted, and the flavour was barely recognizable.

Have you tried Sleigh Ride? How do you think it compares with Forever Nuts? Let us know in the comments below!

 
4 Comments

Posted by on April 12, 2013 in Tea & Beverages

 

Tags: , ,

4 responses to “Tea: Sleigh Ride

  1. Jenn

    April 13, 2013 at 8:00 am

    I agree that forever nuts is better then sleigh ride. Forever nuts is one of the best teas ever made, it’d be hard to maker better. =)

     
    • Dawn

      March 13, 2017 at 9:45 pm

      🙂 I think it’s available year-round… so you’re likely not the only one that thinks that!

       
  2. Chantal the mystic peach

    November 8, 2016 at 8:10 am

    Sleigh ride is my ultimate favourite !!!! I love all the flavours the pinnaple and papaya with the hibiscus and apple and the popcorn is just fun and dosnt ruin the other flavours for me, I have a sample packet of forever nuts that I want to go try now cuz I’m runing now on my sleigh ride and it’s only early November .. Maybe forever nuts could be my summer alternative

     
    • Dawn

      March 13, 2017 at 9:46 pm

      Did you try it after all? How did you like it?

       

Leave a Reply

 
