RSS

Tea: Organic Ever Green

14 Mar

I must have had the sniffles when I had this Organic Ever Green tea from David’s Tea, because from the dry tea I expected mint and pear…neither of which are listed as ingredients in this tea.

Instead, this tea is a combination of sencha green tea, cranberries, blueberries, caraway seed, mustard seed and sea lettuce.

Organic EverGreen tea

Organic EverGreen tea

When steeped up it smelled sort of savory, and sort of berry-like (although perhaps having read the ingredients I could smell the berries since I knew they were there).

The first sip was delightful. The second sip left a strange taste in my mouth. The third taste was delightful again.

I really don’t know how to describe this tea!

I am not a big green tea fan, but this tea only has a little of the tell-tale bitterness or grassyness that I usually associate with green teas. I added sweetener, and it was sweet – but not in the sense of making it a sweet tea. The flavours are complex; to the point that I really don’t know what to tell you about this tea. I can’t say “if you like berry teas, get it” because there isn’t a distinct berry flavour. I can’t say “If you like green teas it might be a nice change” because it really doesn’t have a lot of ‘green tea’ flavour.

My conclusion… try it – but get a small amount, because I suspect that this might be one of those “love it or hate it” teas. As for me, I’m undecided…or at least on the first cup.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 14, 2013 in Tea & Beverages

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
