RSS

Tea: Irish Green tea

26 Jan

A while back a friend gave me a bunch of teas, and little by little I’ve been going through them.  Unfortunately I don’t know where any of them came from, so it’s a bit hard to give a full review – since I have no idea where to get more if it’s something I really like (or suggest others try out for that matter) and no idea where to stay away from if it’s terrible…

Irish Green loose leaf Tea

Irish Green loose leaf Tea

Irish Green Tea is rather interesting though – tiny gunpowder-style tea pellets and larger rolled green tea leaves. Although I don’t know where my friend got the tea originally, I found one that looked similar and sounds the same on Culinary Teas.  The tea is described as “Irish Breakfast Green is full bodied with the ‘umpf’ of black tea but the gentleness of green tea. Enticing toasty hint of flavour. Massively Irish.

Irish Green Tea steeping in the Perfect Tea Maker

Irish Green Tea steeping in the Perfect Tea Maker

The liquor is dark like a black tea, and there’s still a little of the grassy taste of green tea without the bitterness and bitter aftertaste that I usually find with green teas.  Toasty is a good description -it’s not as ‘clean’ tasting as  the black teas I normally drink, but a bit more mellow too.  I had it with sweetener and milk as a late-night tea (hoping that there wouldn’t be loads of caffeine!).  The Culinary Teas Irish Breakfast Green tea features a Chinese green tea, though again, I don’t know much about the origins of what I was drinking – however I did two big infusions and had lots of flavour, so I am happy with it! Luckily, I am not head-over-heels in love with it, since I don’t know where to get more!

Close up of Irish Green Tea in the Perfect Tea Maker

Close up of Irish Green Tea in the Perfect Tea Maker

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 26, 2013 in Tea & Beverages

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
