RSS

Treats: Gluten-free foodgasm

18 Dec
Banana bread

Banana bread

Fortunately I don’t have any issues with gluten, but I know lots of people who do. Either way, when I was invited to a tasting party for a brand-new bakery, I thought it was a great idea – and even though I don’t need to eat gluten-free, it doesn’t matter too much because the treats were just delicious!

First I had quite the challenge finding the location for the party – it’s up in Crowfoot which is totally out of my comfort-zone. The last time I was up there was during Stampede if that helps illustrate how rare it is for me to get out that way!  However, when I got there, I was greeted with the delicious aroma of baked goods, and the warmth of a room with ovens going full steam… Hmmmm

There were a number of plates laid out on the central table with cards naming off what each of the dishes was (I wish I had gotten a good picture of this – but the table was constantly surrounded by other guests!) along with a little form asking for feedback on the different treats we all tried.

 

Gingersnap

Gingersnap

 

I started off with a gingersnap cookie – super crisp with real chunks of candied (?) ginger in it. I LOVE ginger!  I chatted with another guest who commented that she wasn’t a fan of ginger, unless it’s teamed up with something sweet – and she adored the cookie (so much so that she wasn’t going to share with her partner.. he needed to get one of his own!)

Next up I tried a Mexican Chocolate cupcake (I think.. their website isn’t working for me and I didn’t see them on their Facebook page) which was fantastic – I expected it to be spicier, but it was ‘just right’ with a nice subtle chocolate flavour, good texture, and just a little kick at the end to remind me about the spice.  They were super-smart and made all of the goodies “testing” size – two bite cupcakes allowed us to try lots of different things rather than binging on one or two items and then being stuffed.

Cupcake!

Cupcake!

Next up – one of the favorites of the night – a coconut-lime cupcake (recommended by the baker’s partner) with coconut cream cheese icing… incredibly delicious!  If you have celiac disease or just don’t LIKE eating gluten, you might find that you ‘miss out’ on so much… with these cupcakes you wouldn’t be. Super tasty!

I chatted with a few people throughout the night – one guy who was in gastronomic heaven – this was the first chance he’d been to a ‘buffet’ kind of event and actually been able to eat everything – rather than hovering at one end of the table over the one or two ‘safe’ dishes that wouldn’t make him ill.  Another woman I chatted with is gluten-free not out of an allergy concern, but rather she opts out of gluten because it just makes her feel better – her argument is that our bodies just don’t process regular flour the right way.  I don’t know if that’s true – but certainly avoiding gluten is a challenge!

Brownie

Brownie

Next, a slice of chocolate brownie.  I really wanted walnuts in the brownie – but it was still really good without it.  Later on, the bakery posted on their Facebook page that nuts had been a big write-in, with a reminder that when ordering, nuts (along with double-servings of that fabulous icing!) could be added in to any of their orders.

After about an hour and a half, I was really quite full, and the event was winding down a little, so I headed home… and was treated to a little bag to fill up with goodies to take home!  I picked out another slice of brownie, another gingersnap cookie, and a pumpkin spice cupcake to take home to share.  (And by share.. I mean that someone else ate them, because I was full!)

Cupcake with their card

Cupcake with their card

 
23 Comments

Posted by on December 18, 2012 in Treats

 

Tags: , ,

23 responses to “Treats: Gluten-free foodgasm

  1. Kyle Carnes

    March 31, 2013 at 12:56 am

    Hiya! I know this is kinda off topic however I’d figured I’d ask.
    Would you be interested in trading links or maybe guest authoring a blog post or
    vice-versa? My website discusses a lot of the same topics as yours
    and I believe we could greatly benefit from each other.
    If you’re interested feel free to shoot me an email. I look forward to hearing from you! Awesome blog by the way!

     
  2. Инструкция цб

    April 5, 2013 at 8:01 am

    I do not know whether it’s just me or if everyone else experiencing issues with your site. It looks like some of the written text in your content are running off the screen. Can someone else please provide feedback and let me know if this is happening to them too? This may be a problem with my internet browser because I’ve had this happen before.
    Many thanks

     
    • Dawn

      February 4, 2014 at 11:45 am

      HI there,
      Sorry for the delay. I’m not sure what’s happening there, all I can think is that perhaps your browser isn’t up to date or supported by this WordPress theme? If you refresh your screen, does the same thing happen?

       
  3. Dawn

    April 5, 2013 at 2:38 pm

    Hey there Kyle,
    I actually just published a little page about guest blogging! Take a look, and see if it would work for you: https://happysushibelly.wordpress.com/2013/04/04/guest-blogging/

     
  4. Josie

    May 14, 2013 at 2:37 am

    I like it when folks come together and share views.
    Great blog, keep it up!

     
    • Dawn

      February 4, 2014 at 11:45 am

      Thanks Josie!

       
  5. Carrol Manzi

    February 3, 2014 at 8:36 am

    It’s imрressive hat yƴou are gettіing thoughts from this
    piece of writing as well as ftom our dіalogue made at thiѕ
    time.

     
    • Dawn

      February 4, 2014 at 11:46 am

      Thanks Carrol! Glad you enjoyed the post! Have you tried Gluten-free Foodgasm yet?

       
  6. Billie Bower

    February 20, 2014 at 8:13 pm

    There arе a wide range оf affiliate programmes
    and products with Ԁifferent commission payment structures youshould try to make money off this blog.

     
    • Dawn

      March 8, 2014 at 12:43 am

      Hi Billie, Unfortunately WordPress.com does not permit affiliate programs. Thanks for reading!

       
  7. Milo

    February 22, 2014 at 11:30 am

    Woah! I’m reallƴ enjoying tɦе template/theme of thіs website.
    Ӏt’s simple, үеt effective. Α lot of times it’s tough to ɡet
    that “perfect balance” between usability aոd visual appeal.
    I must say yoս have ɗoոe a fantastic job ԝith thіs.
    In addition, tɦe blog loads super quick fοr me ߋn
    Safari. Exceptional Blog!

     
    • Dawn

      March 8, 2014 at 12:44 am

      Thanks Milo – though the credit goes to the person who developed the template – I didn’t.

       
  8. Letha Drury

    February 24, 2014 at 2:29 am

    I believe ѡhat ʏou published was actuallƴ very reasonable.

    Howеver, what about this? suppose you typеd a catchier pߋkst title?

    I mean, Ι don’t want to tell you how tto rrun your website, howevеr what if you added a title to possibly grab peoplе’s attention?
    I mean Tгeats: Glutеn-free foodgasm | Haρpy Sushi Belly is kkinda boring.
    Yօu might pеek at Yahoo’s home page aոd watch how they write newѕ titles to grab peoplе
    to click. You might try addіng a viddeo оr a pic or two
    tߋ get readers excitеd about evеrythinց’ve got to say.
    Jսst my opinion, it ԝould bring yoour website a little livelіer.

     
    • Dawn

      March 8, 2014 at 12:48 am

      Thanks for commenting Letha,
      I think that there are 5 photos on this article, so I think that’s a lot of pics as you suggested…. unfortunately video isn’t really my thing, and it would have been intrusive to shoot video at this event.
      As for your recommendation of ‘catchy news titles’.. well.. we’re not really trying to write “news” at Happy Sushi Belly… Something like “I got invited to a food tasting… and you’ll never believe what happened next!” might get attention of some folks, but it’s not really my style – I think that short and accurate descriptions are likely to get more attention for people interested in the topic – and this is actually one of our most-visited posts… so it’s going good so far!
      Thanks for commenting!

       
  9. Terra Clucas

    February 27, 2014 at 10:31 pm

    I աɑs wondering іf үoս ever thοught of changing
    the structure of your website? Its verу well written; I love what youve gоt to ѕay.

    But maʏbе you could a lіttle more in the աay of content so
    people ϲould connect with іt bеtter. Youve gоt an awful
    lot ߋf text for onlʏ having 1 or two images.

    Ϻaybe you сould space іt out better?

     
    • Dawn

      March 8, 2014 at 12:49 am

      Hey there,
      There are 5 photos on this article… while sometimes I only put one or two, generally that’s because that’s all that I felt were needed (or I just did’t get the chance to take more!) Hopefully you keep coming back to read, even with only a few photos. 🙂

       
  10. Sherry MCDonough

    March 7, 2014 at 9:39 am

    Simply want to say your article is great!

     
    • Dawn

      March 8, 2014 at 12:51 am

      Thanks very much Sherry!

       
  11. Harris

    November 10, 2014 at 6:42 am

    Thanks, very nice article.

     
    • Dawn

      November 18, 2014 at 10:31 am

      Thanks Harris, glad you enjoyed it. Unfortunately Gluten-Free Foodgasm is no longer in the market, though I think their website is still available.

       

Leave a Reply

 
