RSS

Hmmmm MomoYama

30 Nov

After an art show, Connie and I were seeking sushi (aren’t we always?) and decided to head to one of our favourite places (at least in Alberta), MomoYama.

She recommended we start with Agedashi Tofu instead of Gyoza (since we’ve had their gyoza and weren’t thrilled) and it was really good! I’ve never tried this before, but it was so good – I don’t think I would want a whole serving to myself though – and I much preferred the tofu pieces that had sat in the dashi (fish stock) sauce for a while – (but not too long) over the pieces on top which were less flavoured and more dry (and also better than the ones that were soaked at the bottom…).  I also loved the shredded dry seaweed on top!

Agedashi Tofu

I did a quick search, and came up with this recipe for Agedashi Tofu http://rasamalaysia.com/agedashi-tofu-recipe-fried-tofu-in-dashi/2/ and a few days later ended up giving it a try myself – I really liked the addition of the bonito flakes!  

Of course, we didn’t just have sushi, but also had some of our Momo-favorites – for me it was tuna sashimi (they first brought tuna and salmon, and then had to take it back because of the mistake – hence why my two tuna selections look so different), Ikura (salmon roe) and chopped scallops (so good!).  Connie stuck with her mackerel sushi and fatty tuna and green onion roll.

Delicious MomoYama sushi and sashimi

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 30, 2012 in South-West Calgary, Sushi

 

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

 
