RSS

Sushiyama

30 Oct

Sushiyama. Excellent fresh sushi, without costing you an arm & a leg. As I had mentioned in a previous post, regarding Izumi Sushi, I was in Vancouver, for the Michael Jackson Immortal Tour with Cirque du Soleil, back in August, and had also decided to catch up with an old friend of mine. We hadn’t seen each other for twelve years or so! Crazy how time does fly by. Naturally, I suggested sushi. There were no objections there. Hooray! So, he took me to his favorite sushi restaurant. It happened to be located in Burnaby, on Kingsway, not too far from where my hotel was. Well, walking-wise, it would’ve been too far, but he came to pick me in his car, much quicker. And off we go, to fill our bellies with yummy sushi! (-:

As we drove up, I noticed parking is at the back of the building. Upon entering the restaurant, I did notice how bright, open, & clean it was. Good sign thus far. We were seated immediately, and given menus. I was impressed to see many different sushi items, I had never tried before. But of course, I always
have to order a few of my favorites!

For appetizers, we ordered the Agedashi Tofu and Gyoza. For me, the tofu is always a delight. However, the gyozas were deep fried, versus pan fried. Deep dried is not my method by choice at all. Therefore, they were too oily. Flavour-wise though, wasn’t bad.

We then followed the appetizers, with an order of Assorted Sashimi and Saba. (mackerel, my favorite!) Both items were beyond fresh, and tasted delicious. The pieces of Saba were gigantic, so juicy, the flavour just burst in my mouth!

After that, we ordered three different rolls. Oh yes, how can you tell we were quite hungry! Lol. There was the Caterpillar, Dungeness Crab, and Deep fried Chef’s Special roll. The Caterpillar roll was very good, lots of advocado. Yum! The Dungeness Crab roll was tasty as well. And I know how I just mentioned, deep fried, is not my favorite, however, when it comes to rolls, I do not mind it at all. It adds a different texture to the roll, a crispy effect.

Yes, it was a huge meal! And it all was very fresh. This is what I love about Vancouver, is fresh & inexpensive sushi. Actually, the farther one travels, on the west coast, the more fresh sushi is available. Definitely a Happy Sushi Belly for me! (:

You might be wondering about what the bill came to. I had no idea, as my friend picked the tab up! Lucky me. But all I can remember, from looking at the menu, is that it wasn’t very costly at all.

So, if you are ever in the Vancouver area, Sushiyama is a must-visit. It will be worth your trip, out to Burnaby, whether you are driving, or taking the sky train. The service was fast & friendly. How could you say no to that? And once you have tried such fresh sushi, please let us know what your thoughts are!

Sushiyama
371 East Broadway
Vancouver, British Columbia
V5T 3M7

20121030-235430.jpg

20121030-235443.jpg

20121030-235456.jpg

20121030-235504.jpg

20121030-235512.jpg

20121030-235524.jpg

 
2 Comments

Posted by on October 30, 2012 in Out of town - BC, Sushi

 

Tags: , , , ,

2 responses to “Sushiyama

  1. Vincci

    October 31, 2012 at 9:31 pm

    Hi Dawn and Connie,

    My name is Vincci and I am the founder of the Calgary Food Blogger Bake Sale. We will be hosting a Holiday Edition of the bake sale on Sat, Dec 8 10a-4p at Casel Marché (2503 17 Ave SW) and I would love it if you would be able to donate baking, time and/or money to the event. Please shoot me an email at vwctsui [at] gmail [dot] com if you’re interested!

    Thanks!

    Vincci

     
    • Dawn

      December 10, 2012 at 3:34 pm

      HI there Vincci,
      I didn’t get your message until today, sorry! I’m afraid that even if I had gotten it in time, I couldn’t have participated – I had a holiday party that I was helping to host on the 8th. Plus… most of my baking is still in the ‘experimental’ phase. LOL
      Dawn

       

Leave a Reply

 
