RSS

Tea: Carrot Cake

17 May

Tea. Photo by Modomatic

Yes, you read the title correctly – carrot cake tea.

One of the (too many) teas I picked up from David’s Teas not too long ago was Carrot Cake – an oolong tea from Taiwan with the flavours of apple, carrot, coconut and almond.  I saw it on the counter when I entered the store along with a few others (like Mom’s Apple Pie, which I didn’t like the scent of, so didn’t get), loved the scent, and picked up one of their pre-packaged bags of the tea.

Scent while dry:

Someone else thought this smells a little like chocolate, but I can’t say that I smell that at all.  I can sort of smell the carrot, sort of smell the apple, but that’s about it.  It smells sweet, but not overly so. The best scent I can relate it to?  It smells like a scratch-and-sniff sticker of carrot cake. Weird, I know.

Scent when steeped:

Oddly enough (or perhaps not! and thankfully!) the tea smells almost entirely the same when steeped as when dry to me.  It still smells sweet, with a little bit of carrot, a little bit of apple, and a bit nutty.

Taste:

I have to say, I really appreciate it when the scent of a tea is a really good indicator of the flavour – which this tea is.  It tastes just like what I expected based on the scent. It’s delicious!  The tea has the flavours of carrot, apple, and a nutty flavour – but hardly any ‘tea’ taste or scent.  It’s an oolong, so it’s sort of half-way between a green and a black. I have had several oolong teas where I can’t really taste the “tea” either, so I’m not overly surprised.

Final thoughts:

I really liked this tea – with my only ‘complaint’ being the slight cloudiness of the tea. I got two infusions of the tea successfully, but haven’t tried for a third yet.  On Eat Spin Run Repeat the author tried the tea without sweetener – however I did add some sweetener to mine, since that’s how I usually have most teas.  I suppose I really should have tried it without too… The author of Toronto Girl and the City loved carrot cake tea too, and describes the tea having “a mild, subtle flavor that wasn’t too strong; it totally caught the essence of that carrot cake goodness but without the calories and guilt.”

To me, I didn’t really taste “carrot cake” exactly, but it sure is delicious!  Have you tried carrot cake tea?  If so, let us know what you thought in the comments below!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 17, 2012 in South-East Calgary, Tea & Beverages

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
