RSS

Tea: Baked Apple Pie

13 Apr

For my birthday/Xmas, a friend got me a tin of tea – how sweet!  (Birthday/Xmas is what happens when your birthday falls two weeks after Xmas…) Since she doesn’t really drink tea though, it was a bit of a conundrum, so she went to Teaopia and told them the following:

  • Should be good iced or warm
  • Should be good made into a latte
  • Sweet/fruity over bitter
  • Should be pretty!
  • … and maybe a few other things that I’ve forgotten…

Of course, where did she know about my preferences? From reading Happy Sushi Belly!  Heheeh.. how thoughtful!  From the sounds of it, their first recommendation was an oolong Peaches and Cream which I have already tried… so instead their second recommendation: Baked Apple Pie.

Baked Apple Pie from Teaopia

To start off, the scent is amazing – it definitely smells like apple pie, and there are big chunks of apple, so it’s very pretty too.  It’s an oolong, which I’m really starting to like a lot more lately, as a nice ‘happy medium’ between green (which I often find bitter) and black (which I’m not always in the mood for).

Baked Apple Pie from Teaopia steeping away in the new strainer

Oh, the tea also came in a super-pretty little tin!

I made it up using the new Teaopia strainer that I got at our holiday party, and it steeps up a very pretty pale green.  The smell remained just as nice as when the tea was dry, and the taste was remarkably similar as well.

I got 3 infusions easily, so while the first one shown here is plain (ok, a little bit of sweetener!) the second one I made up as a latte.

Baked apple pie from Teaopia

.

Baked Apple Pie from Teaopia

As a latte it is REALLY good, and to round out the whole ‘apple pie’ taste, I sprinkled some cinnamon and nutmeg on the top too. Yum yum!

12 New Teaopia Teas recommends Baked Apple Pie with honey or brown sugar and milk as well (I’ll have to try that later… ), while Teaexperience recommends adding sweetener (like me!) to this one to bring out the real dessert taste.

Have you tried Baked Apple Pie yet?  What do you think? Leave your comments in the space below!

 
1 Comment

Posted by on April 13, 2012 in South-West Calgary, Tea & Beverages

 

Tags: , , ,

One response to “Tea: Baked Apple Pie

  1. Laura

    July 17, 2012 at 4:43 pm

    I love the baked apple pie tea. supper yummy 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
