RSS

Tea: Secret Weapon

09 Apr

So, Secret Weapon is another of the David’s Teas I picked up a while back (but only now got around to blogging about..) I went in looking for white tea – and was intrigued by the notion that it might be a great winter tea – with lots of immune boosters.  Of course, anything that can help me stave off those winter colds is a good thing!  (Lots of vitamin-rich foods, lots of sleep, flu shots, hand washing, etc…)

Secret Weapon from David's Tea

It’s kind of a pretty tea too, right?  I even packaged up some containers to give away as gifts at Xmas, since I figure that all of my friends (one in particular who is ALWAYS getting sick…) can use a little healthy boost along with a great cup of tea.

Unfortunately, the taste doesn’t measure up to the hype or the pretty.

The David’s Tea website describes Secret Weapon as:

Kick-start your immune system
Looking for a tea that’ll give you the edge you need to succeed? Try this delicious blend. It’s got white tea, the favourite drink of Chinese emperors, plus goji berries, a legendary superfood. Add in licorice, almonds and cocoa nibs, and you’ve got yourself a winning combination. It’s an amazingly tasty weapon of choice.

The ingredients are listed as: White Bai Mu Dan tea from Fujian Province, almond slices, orange peel, goji berries, cocoa nibs, licorice root, blue cornflowers.

White tea =good
Licorice = very good
Almonds = good
Orange Peel = probably not so good…
Cocoa nibs = theoretically good…
Goji berries = don’t know about this, but any berry has got to be tasty, right?

Well… no.

First off, the tea smells… stale. The smell is kind of a mix of old socks, wet laundry and sick-for-a-week-Sunday-night-breath.  You know, that dirty gym sock that got hidden under your bed last month and never made it to the wash. The real pungent ICK isn’t there, but it’s still not pleasant. Or when you’ve done laundry, but totally forgotten about it, and left it in the washer for a week, and it just smells stale and musty and wet.  Or that taste of your breath when it’s a Sunday night and you’ve been sick in bed for a  week and in a self-pitying, whiny kind of mood you’ve neglected your oral hygiene.  Like your mouth is coated buttermilk and the memory of a hundred used tissues.

It kind of smells like that.

The first time I tasted it, I thought “well this had better be good for me, because it tastes terrible!”  Now, it’s not quite as bad as Buckley’s Cough Syrup or anything, and it tastes slightly better than it smells (but not by much)  but I still wouldn’t recommend tasting it if you have fully-developed and happy taste buds.  If you’re one of those people who was in an accident and lost your sense of taste and smell (Selma Bouvier I’m looking at you…) on the other hand, you might be safe.

I could taste the licorice and the orange fighting for control.  Kind of the way orange juice tries to take over your mouth after you’ve brushed your teeth – they fight, but you are the loser.  The almond/cocoa nib flavours didn’t come through at all (apart from in some bitterness) and I really couldn’t taste a ‘berry’ flavour either.  The flavour of the tea was completely overwhelmed by the various battles for questionable taste, so it joins the Goji berries on the sidelines, merely observing the carnage.

I hate to waste anything so I put in twice as much sweetener as normal (plus my fiber supplement) and choked down a few cups the other day when I thought i might be coming down with something.  My nose is still runny, and all I got out of it was the need to brush my teeth twice as much.

Tongue out of cheek – Not recommended….

But…. if you’ve been reading Happy Sushi Belly and love everything I hate; hate everything I love, I have a few POSITIVE reviews of Secret Weapon to share with you as well.  On the SororiTea Sisters blog – the author found that the cocoa and almond flavours were actually the most predominant – and could hardly taste the licorice at all!  AshleyEats considers Secret Weapon one of her favorite white teas, and has a rave review for both the tea and David’s Teas in general.  Erin’s Tea considers this a great white tea for those new to trying white teas.

So.. what about YOUR thoughts? Let us know in the comments below!

 
4 Comments

Posted by on April 9, 2012 in South-East Calgary, Tea & Beverages

 

Tags: , , ,

4 responses to “Tea: Secret Weapon

  1. Erin

    October 13, 2012 at 8:22 pm

    You should try goji pop for a more goji taste! Those are the super berries that are great for your immune system 🙂

     
    • Dawn

      November 26, 2012 at 2:42 pm

      I tried some goji berries in a trail mix not too long ago, and they were the only thing I wanted to pick around – so I’m guessing that gojis just arent’ for me…

       
  2. Erin

    October 13, 2012 at 8:23 pm

    But if you’re getting a cold, definitely try the cold 911 from davids…it doesn’t taste amazing but it works so well for fighting colds 🙂

     
    • Dawn

      November 26, 2012 at 2:42 pm

      I don’t know that I’ve seen that one… what is in it?

       

Leave a Reply

 
