RSS

Photos or it didn’t happen

29 Feb

Most folks who know me well know that I’m not really much for cooking… but with some fresh salmon in the fridge and an avocado on the counter, I wanted to put something together…

Seared salmon

The recipe is loosely based on Pan Seared Salmon with Avocado Remoulade from Simply Recipes.  Loosely, because I didn’t feel like using the blender/food processor for such a small amount of remoulade, I didn’t have any shallots so I used onion salt instead (and then skipped adding salt) – yeah.. I know they’re not even close to the same thing, but work with me!  I don’t like the olive oil we have (I ran out of the nice stuff I had before and haven’t bothered to get any more..) so I skipped that and added a teaspoon of mayo instead…  I also rubbed the salmon with fresh ground pepper, sea salt and dill before searing them too… which I REALLY liked.  WIll need to do that again! Gotta love Fleur de Sel!

And yah…I put the salmon on top of the sauce because it was so pretty… photos.. photos.. (even if it’s just an iPhone photo…)

So… proof – I really can cook!  (Hence the title of this post…)

Here’s the original recipe, minus all of my substitutions and alternatives:

INGREDIENTS
2 large avocados, cut and peeled
3 Tbsp freshly squeezed lime juice (can substitute lemon)
3-4 Tbsp light olive oil (light refers to flavor and color, not calories)
1 Tbsp minced shallots or green onion
1 Tbsp minced parsley
1 teaspoon Dijon mustard or to taste
Salt and pepper to taste
1 to 1 1/2 pounds of salmon fillets
Grapeseed or canola oil
METHOD
1 Put avocado pieces and lime juice into a food processor or blender and pulse until blended. Slowly add olive oil, pulsing, until you reach desired consistency of sauce. Add minced shallots (or green onions) and parsley, pulse just until combined. Remove to a bowl, add mustard, salt and pepper to taste.
2 Coat the bottom of a sauté pan with oil, heat on medium high until almost smoking. Season both sides of the salmon fillets with salt and pepper, carefully lay the salmon into the pan, skin side down. Cook the salmon until about medium doneness, about 3-4 minutes per side.
Serve salmon with avocado remoulade sauce.
Serves 4.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 29, 2012 in South-West Calgary

 

Tags:

Leave a Reply

 
