RSS

Sushi: Sushi House Banff

08 Feb

Sushi House Banff (faces blurred for privacy)

I’ve mentioned Sushi House Banff once before – my first (and subsequently best) experience with the boat/train style of sushi dining, but not too long ago Connie and I were back up again and headed in for some lunch in a sushi-packed weekend.

Our initial plan was to park, head to the candy shop for some sweets to take home (none for me this time!), head to the Christmas Store (just window-shopping this time around) and then to the Banff Tea Co. to pick up a few much-needed favourites. From there we were going to head up to the Banff Springs Hotel to splurge on some (incredibly over-priced) sushi from Samurai Sushi Bar and Restaurant.

(Why do I say over-priced?  Check out the prices on their menu… well over the price I normally pay elsewhere. Ouch!  I have eaten there before, and while the service was wonderful, it dosn’t justify the inflated price IMO.)

Well, on our walk back to the car we struck a bargain, since we had found such a good parking spot (for free) and weren’t too excited about the hike from free parking near the Banff Springs Hotel to the hotel itself (their parking is not free), we said that if there was room at Sushi House Banff, we’d stop there instead.  As luck would have it – there were a few spots, so we put our purchases in the nearby car and headed in for lunch.

(Another spot of luck – it turns out that Samurai might have been closed anyways while we were up there – I only just found that out now by looking at their website for this post!)

So, all the sushi-stars were aligning well, and we had some of what I think is the best sushi I’ve had in a long, long time.

Delicious scallop from Sushi House Banff

I didn’t see my favorites circling on the model train, so placed an order with the waitress for Ikura and chopped scallop (but not spicy like they have on the menu).  While I was waiting I had some smoked salmon.  It was good but I really should have waited – it was not nearly as good as what was to come…. and I also had some scallop – delicious!

Fantastic chopped scallop from Sushi House Banff

The chopped scallop was PERFECT.  I’d say it was as good as the best I’ve had – the scallop and eggs nice and firm, hardly any mayo, the right proportions of topping to rice and nori.  Yum, yum yum.  In fact, when they put the extra on the train, I scooped that up too – even though it had spicy sauce on it. The only thing I didn’t love about it was that it had a tiny amount of chopped green onion – which is unusual.  However, it wasn’t overwhelming, and I still really liked it.

Ikura from Sushi House Banff

Ikura from Sushi House Banff

The Ikura (salmon eggs) was just as good.  The eggs were firm and shiny – none of the cloudiness or stickiness that I sometimes see.  My only regret was that the lighting wasn’t great so I didn’t get fabulous photos.

They also do take out too -which is important to remember (though I don’t know if you can call ahead with your order or not…) especially with how tiny the resturaunt is, and how absolutely fantastic the food is.It was all so good that it wasn’t hard to think “oh.. I’ll just have ONE more…”

Sushi House Banff is also really (well-behaved) child friendly with lots of things on the menu (like potato croquettes and shrimp dumplings, plus fried chicken???) and children’s chopsticks. (Plus a booster seat) There were a number of really well-behaved kids in there while we were in there.

Yum yum yum.  Add this to your must-visit list when you’re in Banff.  If you can find a seat, you won’t regret it.  (However, if you are coming with a party of 5 – like the lady who came in after us.. you likely won’t get enough seats!)

Sushi House Banff
304 Caribou Street
Banff, AB

Sushi House on Urbanspoon

 
4 Comments

Posted by on February 8, 2012 in Out of town - Alberta, Sushi

 

Tags:

4 responses to “Sushi: Sushi House Banff

  1. Kimmi

    February 17, 2012 at 10:22 am

    I love Sushi House Banff. Me and my husband actually drive up sometimes just to eat there. Well, to see the sights too, but really just to eat there. =)

     
    • Dawn

      February 17, 2012 at 3:22 pm

      I can totally see that. I went to another conveyor belt place while in Hawaii, and was impressed there too, but I still think that Sushi House Banff is better!

       

Leave a Reply

 
