RSS

Tea: Quangzhou Milk Oolong

29 Nov

Loose leaf tea is not an inexpensive passion – most of the teas I pick up from David’s Tea are about 6.50$ for 50 grams (which is certainly more than most of the bagged teas that I buy) but with so much more flavour – they’re so worth it!

On their website, David’s Tea lists the Quangzhou Milk Oolong along with the other oolongs at 9$ – but it’s all sneaky, because that’s only for 25 grams (where as all the rest are listed for 50) which makes it look like it’s a comparable price – but… it ends up being 36$ for 100 grams.  Ouch!

David's Tea Quangzhou milk oolong

So, Quangzhou Milk Oolong could definitely be considered a luxury tea, but delicious!  As anyone who has read Happy Sushi Belly for a while knows that I am not really a big fan of green teas, and tend to waver half-and-half on Oolongs.  This tea definitely leans closer to the ‘green’ than the ‘black’ as far as oolongs are concerned, but there is a delicious creaminess to the tea, even without milk added.  (I don’t normally add milk to green and oolong teas.)

David’s Tea describes this tea as a “limited-edition oolong from the Wuyi Mountains of China” and “velvety smooth and lightly creamy, with a subtle hint of orchid.”  I was very pleased to get several infusions out of the leaves (at least four) which is a good way to stretch my tea dollar!

Cortney over at 99 kettles has a mouth-watering review of Quangzhou Milk Oolong which I think will do an even better job of convincing you to at least try a cup the next time you’re at David’s Tea!  The writer for Me and My Tea on the other hand wasn’t a convert to this tea, and suggests that there are artificial ‘milk’ flavours added to this tea. David’s Tea is usually really good about mentioning any flavouring, so I don’t know about this – though I’m not adverse to artificial flavours in my tea – I’m not a purist like some!  There are also a number of comments to the post that make for an interesting read.

What are your thoughts on artificial flavourings in teas?  Assuming there is full disclosure, are you ok with it, or would you rather add your own flavours like milk, sugar, or lemon?  Let me know in the comments below!

 
11 Comments

Posted by on November 29, 2011 in South-East Calgary, Tea & Beverages

 

Tags: , , ,

11 responses to “Tea: Quangzhou Milk Oolong

  1. Frank

    December 5, 2011 at 10:43 pm

    Having the fortune of working in Taiwan and live four months at a time, being a tea-nut this is a great opportunity to taste, visit plantations, and immerse in tea culture.

    For the most part David’s Tea promote/push artificially flavoured teas and Rooibos. Of course there are a few naturally flavoured ones, but these too often are “enhanced”. Not a fan of David’s Tea nor tea which is flavoured either naturally or chemically. Also David’s is way over-priced, I can get tea many many times better shipped to my door from Taiwan or mainland for less. Mind you no need since I can load-up the suitcase a lot, no customs limitations on tea unlike alcohol or tobacco.

    Quality tea is like quality whisky or wine. You don’t add sugar, lemons, or chemical blueberries to single malt Scotch, nor would you do that to a fine Bordeaux.

    If you want the real-goods on Chinese teas checkout Stephane’s blog: http://teamasters.blogspot.com

    Excellent information, nice photos, and a nice guy too. Some of the postings are in French, his country of birth and he’s quite knowledgeable about wine too, but not content of the blog. Enjoy.

     
    • Dawn

      December 9, 2011 at 10:54 am

      I’ve read a lot of criticism of David’s Tea and other chains promoting ‘flavoured’ teas – but it really is what I prefer. Just like there’s a market for that single malt scotch… there’s also a market for peach-flavoured wine spritzers or bubble-gum flavoured vodka (I prefer the chocolate vodka myself..)

      I’ve got a few bags of Margret’s Hope at home, and a few tins of other ‘traditional’ teas too (Grandma won’t stand for the flavoured stuff either) but for me, I like the variety! I don’t pretend to be a tea purist by any regards.. 🙂

      That being said, I’m curious to try another Quangzhou Milk Oolong from a different supplier if I get the chance – partially to compare, but partially because I really enjoyed what I had before!

      I will totally agree on the over-priced comment though – while I’m definitely not going to be shipping tea in from overseas, there are other shops that I like that are more reasonably priced – but they’re also much harder to get to, so David’s Tea (and Teaopia, etc) will still have a place in my shopping cart!

       
  2. Hye Cobar

    December 7, 2011 at 8:32 pm

    Love your blog!

     
  3. Labine

    December 8, 2011 at 4:11 am

    You have a great weblog and I like your style of writing about this stuff. Keep up the good work!

     
  4. Teaslinger

    September 10, 2012 at 4:43 pm

    I work as a sales associate at Davids and just thought I’d say that there is no artificial milk flavorings in milk oolong. It’s grown in nutrient poor soil which gives it a distinct creamy almost buttery flavor. There are no added flavors in our traditional teas and if you want to be sure you aren’t drinking anything artificial check out the ingredients list right on the tea label

     
    • Dawn

      October 6, 2012 at 1:16 pm

      Thanks for commenting Teaslinger; I don’t mind flavourings myself, though there do seem to be a few comments about it online which I found interesting. This Milk Oolong definitely has a nice creamy flavour. My friend gave me some coconut milk oolong from another seller which she wasn’t fond of, but I loved that too!

       
  5. Wendi

    March 11, 2013 at 6:53 pm

    Don’t forget the true cost of having teas shipped from country of origin (transport and fuel as well as shipping and handling costs) to you compared to buying from a company like Davids that will be having their teas shipped to them in bulk. I’m sure $36 for 100 grams of the Quanghou Milk Oolong is cheaper than having a single portion shipped to you personally. Think how much it costs to buy a daily tea or coffee from a coffee/tea shop.
    The persons at Davids told me that you can re-use the leaves too and that traditionally this was done with oolongs (the third pouring being the best) so, that’s a way to take the ouch out of the cost.
    I am a tea purist and also have my criticisms of the flavoured teas at Davids such as ones that have candy, chocolate and other crazy ingredients in them. But they also have pure, rare teas which I have tried and think are delicious and they do list their ingredients on the bag including if flavours are artificial or natural.
    Their Butterfly Jasmine is an amazing tasting green tea and the Organic Bai Hao Vin Zhen is an excellent white tea. Davids has encouraged me to try other teas beyond my staples of Earl Grey and Rooibos.

     
    • Dawn

      March 14, 2013 at 5:44 pm

      I agree with your comment about multiple infusions – I almost always get 3-4 infusions out of each of my loose leaf teas. The ones with the addititives seems to give fewer, while the ones with natural flavours seem to last longer, but that’s entirely just a guess..

       
  6. Kim Erroche

    November 13, 2014 at 8:00 am

    Hello, i read your blog occasionally and i own a similar one and i was just wondering
    if you get a lot of spam responses? If so how do you prevent it, any plugin or anything you
    can suggest? I get so much lately it’s driving me crazy so any help is very much appreciated.

     
    • Dawn

      November 18, 2014 at 10:30 am

      Hi Kim,
      I get a bit of spam, but it’s not terrible. Usually WordPress’s own spam-catcher gets the majority; spammers are usually pretty obvious in their tactics. If you aren’t on WordPress (you didn’t leave your blog link…) then I can’t assist with suggestions for other bloggers.

       

Leave a Reply

 
