RSS

Raspberry mint iced green tea

12 Nov

A while back I was thinking about making my own raspberry mint tea, and I finally got around to it a while ago. (Ok.. a long while ago – this is a scheduled post!)

I started off with just water, frozen raspberries from our neighbour’s garden, and mint leaves from our backyard.  Last year we planted a few different mint plants, and didn’t end up doing anything with them. We didn’t expect them to come back, but they did with vigor!  Unfortunately since we didn’t expect them to come back, we didn’t keep the little labels – so I don’t know what kind of mint we have!

lovely colours!

I heated it up, added some Splenda to cut the tartness of the raspberries, and muddled the mint and broke up the raspberries. The colour was fantastically bright, and it was interesting how the raspberry fruit became really pale as the juice went from the berries into the tea.

Finally I made up some green tea (‘matcha’ from the Asian grocery near my house), and poured the raspberry-mint ‘tea’ through the same strainer to create the raspberry mint green tea.  I decided to go with it iced instead of hot so it went in the fridge for a few hours, and done!

Done!

Overall, it was… ok.  I think it would have been much better with black tea instead of green tea – mostly because the green tea taste really was strong, and the mint taste not noticeable enough.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on November 12, 2011 in South-West Calgary, Tea & Beverages

 

Tags: , , , ,

3 responses to “Raspberry mint iced green tea

  1. Susan

    November 12, 2011 at 8:57 pm

    I like it when bloggers post about their near successes/almost hits. The photos make this look fabulously refreshing, and it sounds fantastic.Maybe try muddling or blending the mint leaves (or even blanching them) to get a stronger minty flavour?

     
    • Dawn

      November 14, 2011 at 5:34 pm

      Thanks! It does look yummy doesn’t it! I did try to muddle the leaves a little bit.. (or rather, I muddled through har har) but I think you’re right.. I think if I had done a better job of it, I would have been more pleased with the result.

       
  2. sweetopiagirl

    November 26, 2011 at 4:16 pm

    Reblogged this on inspiredweightloss.

     

Leave a Reply

 
