RSS

Tea: Buttercream

16 Sep

When I first heard about the new fall flavours from David’s Tea, Buttercream was one of the ones that leapt off the page for me- one of the ones that made me head into the shop right away to pick some up.  (Good job, marketing writers!) I didn’t really know what a buttercream-flavoured tea might taste  like, but it sounded fantastic and I knew that I wanted some!

Buttercream tea

So, the other day I made some up.  The scent of the dry tea is really nice, although it didn’t really say “buttercream” to me.  It was somewhat sweet, but mostly it smells like chamomile tea.  Steeped, the scent is similar, and it brews up to a soft yellow (with just a touch of green).  The taste before ‘dressing’… well… it tastes like chamomile tea. A slightly sweet chamomile, but still just chamomile.  The package suggests adding milk and a touch of sugar, so I tried that out, although I normally wouldn’t add milk to chamomile tea.

In some cases, adding milk and/or sugar adds a nice rich dimension to some of the teas I drink – but all this really tasted like was chamomile tea, a bit sweet, with milk added.  It isn’t bad, but it unfortuantely it doesn’t add up to the description.

Later, I had someone else try it – without telling them the ingredients.  Upon knowing the name, she said that she could sort of taste a buttercream flavor, but there was a more predominant flavour.  When I suggested chamomile, she agreed that the tea tasted more like chamomile than anything else – although she could taste the buttercream flavour that I couldn’t.

All in all – Buttercream is good, but it’s really nothing special… not like one of the OTHER teas I picked up from the new fall collection…

(yeah, that would be a teaser for a future post!)

Buttercream tea is white Chinese tea, chamomile, mango, and other flavours according to the David’s Tea website.  I went and looked for other bloggers’ reviews of the tea, but I guess it’s so new that no one else has had the chance yet! (Or at least Google hasn’t indexed it yet!)

Have you tried Buttercream yet?  What did you think – did it live up to the description for you? Let us know in the comments below!

 
6 Comments

Posted by on September 16, 2011 in South-East Calgary, Tea & Beverages

 

Tags: , ,

6 responses to “Tea: Buttercream

  1. Kelsey @ Snacking Squirrel

    September 18, 2011 at 5:54 pm

    i thought it was pretty good too. i had it as a sample they gave out and was going to get a full tea of it but decided to try Secret Weapon instead. It has a marshmallow/almond/peanut butter taste to it! SO DELICIOUS!

     
    • Dawn

      September 22, 2011 at 8:22 pm

      That sounds delicious! I just made a promise that I wouldn’t buy any more tea though… at least until the Winter collection comes out /Christmas shopping. Hmmm I’ll have to add Secret Weapon to my list for the next time I am able to get there though!

       
  2. Jenn

    October 11, 2011 at 10:13 pm

    Buttercream was not my favorite fall tea. I found it had a weird after taste. That being said, I just tried the cup the store made for me. I haven’t bought any to take home and I usually like it better when I can put the right amount of milk and sweetness in it.

    Now Mom’s Apple Pie or Pumpkin Chai, that’s another story….

    Jenn

     
    • Dawn

      October 14, 2011 at 11:35 pm

      Adding milk didn’t really improve the flavour for me at all – I had another cup tonight and had sweetener instead of sugar – it’s a nice enough tea for me, but just not what I would expect from the name. 😦

       

Leave a Reply

 
