RSS

Tea: Pumpkin Chai

13 Sep

I recently added David’s Tea to my Twitter feed, and was excited reading about new fall flavours.  One of the ones I knew I wanted to try, based on the name alone was the new Pumpkin Chai.

This is a black tea with caramel bits, cinnamon, cloves, cardamom and little pumpkin candies.  I can’t say that I’m a big fan of the candy bits added to tea (other than chocolate chips of course!) but the pumpkin candies are seriously adorable!

Adorable little pumpkin candies in the Pumpkin Chai tea!

First – the scent… This smells SO good.  It’s like all of the yummy baking you can think of with the gauzy veil of childhood nostalgia from Thanksgivings and back-to-school bake sales years past.  (As in, before you realized how much work pulling together family holidays really is!) It wasn’t so much Hallowe’en pumpkin as it was muffins and cookies and pies.  Delicious!  The “chai” didn’t translate in the scent very much though – at least not how I usually think of chai – the scent was mellow and warm, not spicy and sharp like I  usually find chais.

Black Pumpkin Chai tea before dressing

I steeped it as per the instructions, but although the scent remained as wonderful, the tea itself was… well, weak and underwhelming.  I added warm milk and brown sugar (as they suggest on the label!) and the tea improved considerably, but I still wouldn’t consider this a tea I’d purchase again.

Pumpkin Chai with milk and brown sugar

If you want to order some online (let’s say.. if you don’t have a David’s Tea in your city) you can find it on their website for the time being.  Although I wasn’t a big fan – the blogger Steeped in Tea loves Pumpkin Chai, and JLMack who writes for Moar Tea had a good review of it as well. Maybe I need to add in more tea than recommended to get more flavour?

What about you?  If you’ve tried Pumpkin Chai from the David’s Tea fall collection – what do you think?  Let us know in the comments below!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on September 13, 2011 in South-East Calgary, Tea & Beverages

 

Tags: ,

2 responses to “Tea: Pumpkin Chai

  1. Lauren

    September 14, 2011 at 10:38 am

    Hi there!

    Great blog 🙂 Are you used to stronger chais? As I mentioned in my blog, I didn’t find this tea to be overwhelmingly flavoured like a chai – it was more sweet. Perhaps you like the ‘stronger’ chai flavour and that’s why this one didn’t work for you? Maybe try making it again with double the tea, that may help a bit. But since taste is subjective this one just may not be for you!

     
    • Dawn

      September 22, 2011 at 8:35 pm

      I think that doubling it up is what I’ll need to try for next time. I didn’t think that I was really into stronger chais, but very likely that must be the case. I suppose I could also spice it up as well myself (adding more chai spices) but sometimes I’m just too lazy for that 🙂 Thanks for commenting!

       

Leave a Reply

 
