RSS

Tea: Banff Trail Mix

02 Sep

One of the new teas I picked up on my last visit to my favorite tea shops was Banff Trail Mix. This is a tea with mate added, and although the day that I had some it was a hot day, with an impending wonderfull thunderstorm, I felt like something warm and cozy.

To start off, the tea has a distinctive scent when it’s dry. It reminds me of carob or chicory or something that’s not quite chocolate, not quite coffee, not quite black tea, but somewhere in between.  The smell is interesting, but not something that I really jumped up for.  Perhaps it’s just the timing, because it smelt really yummy in the store.

Pretty tea

It’s a fairly pretty tea though, with two different sizes of chocolate chips. I thought perhaps one of them was a carob chip instead, but reading the ingredients, it looks as though the distinctive scent is likely coming from the mate instead.  The ingredients include: “Roasted mate, black tea, chocolate chips, almonds, sunflower and calendula petals, elderberries, dried black currants, hibiscus, natural flavour.”

The tea steeps up a rich, lovely dark amber colour, and still has that same scent that I can’t quite put my finger on.  Unfortunately, when I had it black, it was a bit underwhelming.  The flavor was similar to the scent, but it didn’t have as much flavor as I had hoped for.  I added some sugar and milk, which improved it quite a bit, but it still wasn’t particularly memorable.

With and without milk & sugar

Since I wasn’t overly thrilled with the tea hot, I steeped some up and put it in the fridge overnight.  Oddly enough, this improved it considerably for me!  With a good chill (and a pinch of sugar), the tea flavor remains, the odd flavor (not bad, just odd) mellows, and the chocolate improves.

I looked for other bloggers talking about Banff Trail Mix – but couldn’t find anything – so if you’ve tried Banff Trail Mix – let me know what you thought in the comments below!

Banff Tea Co. on Urbanspoon

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 2, 2011 in Out of town - Alberta

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
