RSS

Tea: Jazz Cats Meow

25 Aug

Every time I have this tea, I can’t help think of the Cure’s Love Cats song.  That ultimately makes me think of a friend (who passed away a few years ago) fondly, and a host of other lovely charming things.  Who doesn’t love a tea that reminds you of wonderful friends, upright bass, and Robert Smith?

Such a pretty tea

The tea is  a classic cream of Earl Grey with chocolate chips.  The Banff Tea Co. website describes it as “Truly a cool and groovy taste!”  The black tea is from Sri Lanka, and the tea also includes cornflower petals (pretty!) along with ‘natural flavors’.

I’ve found that a few of the Sri Lankan black teas I’ve tried have been very ‘delicate’ – which means oversteeping leads to bitterness.  This is true with Jazz Cats Meow – I need to remember to not make it up in my travel Bodum because of this.

I asked the woman working in the shop this time around for as much bergamont as possible (one of the flavors usually found in Earl Grey tea) and her first suggestion was their classic Earl Grey – but I went for this one instead, since I’ve tried it before and loved it.

Ready to go! I think I might need some not-so-wintery clear tall mugs!

The scent of the tea dry is exactly what you would expect – Earl Grey and chocolate.  Delicious!  The taste is the same – a creamy, smooth, delightful Earl Grey with slight floral notes and pleasing chocolate flavors.  My only complaint – I find myself picking out the little pieces of chocolate constantly and making them before I brew my tea… chocolate infused with the taste of black tea is amazing!  I would put this up near the top of my list of always reliably good, and always reliably enjoyed teas.

Have you tried Jazz Cats Meow? What did you think?  Let me know in the comments below!

On a more personal note – in the building where I work, they are renovating the pub, and it’s transitioning from a pub/lounge into a pub/restaurant.  I was talking with the Bar Manager yesterday, and the Kitchen Manager today – and they both told me that getting REALLY GOOD coffee and TEA on the menu is a priority, and they’re really excited about what the suppliers are offering.  Yippee!  So, in a few months, I’ll hopefully have a whole new bunch of teas to review!  (They’ll be bagged teas though, not loose leaf.)

Banff Tea Co. on Urbanspoon

 
2 Comments

Posted by on August 25, 2011 in Out of town - Alberta, Tea & Beverages

 

Tags: , , , ,

2 responses to “Tea: Jazz Cats Meow

  1. susanne

    February 26, 2012 at 2:49 pm

    Love your site and the photos you post. Beautiful!

     
    • Dawn

      February 28, 2012 at 12:49 pm

      Thanks! I love your tea!

       

Leave a Reply

 
