RSS

Tea: Glitter & Gold

15 Jul

Glitter and Gold is one of the teas I picked up while in Edmonton at David’s Teas – the smell was sweet and cinnamon-y, but not too sweet or spicy either.  I thought it would be a great cold-weather tea.

Glitter and Gold tea from David's Tea

Glitter and Gold tea from David's Tea

Glitter & Gold is described by David’s Tea as: “This deep dark Chinese tea is like a gorgeous starry night, glimmering with gold and silver sugar crystals that shimmer as they steep. Take a sip and the slow suggestion of cinnamon will warm your body. Your toes will tingle and your mind will turn to fireworks, falling stars, late-night seduction. It’s basically magic. (Is it getting hot in here, or is it just the tea?)”

I found this tea a bit strange.  The gold balls are those cake decorations – which looks neat in the tea, but is really just a strange sugar-thing, and the “glimmering silver sugar crystals” are kind of hard to see, but again; just sugar.  I find it odd to base the tea on basically “sugar already added”.  The cinnamon scent, while strong enough to be pleasant in the tea before it’s steeped, was a bit too mild for my taste once it was steeped.  I couldn’t really taste too much cinnamon in the tea when I was drinking it.  I also am not sure how I feel about a tea that already has sugar in it – because often enough I use a sugar substitute in my tea, and I’m sure that others are trying to limit their sugar intake as well.

Although this tea was a lot of fun to look at (and photograph!) I don’t think that I would buy Glitter and Gold again.

Glitter and Gold tea from David's Tea

However, despite the fact that Glitter & Gold isn’t a favorite for me – Paulina who writes in the Everyday Stuff blog raved about it!

What are your thoughts about teas with sugar already added?  Let us know in the comments below!

DAVIDs TEA on Urbanspoon

 
 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
