RSS

Tea: Earl Grey Rooibos

17 May

Earl Grey with milk

I really like the idea behind small, independently owned tea shops, but it’s also exciting to see tea go ‘mainstream’ (I’m not sure how that’s possible when tea is the drink of choice all over the world, but in a country full of Tim Hortons, Starbucks, Second Cups, Good Earth Cafes & others, let’s just run with it….) and finding tea shops in major shopping centers alongside other national and international chains.

Teaopia is one of these chains – here in Calgary there are 5 locations, and they have other locations in BC, Ontario, and Manitoba, along with an online presence which sells in both Canadian and US dollars.  Not long ago I was at the Chinook Centre Teaopia, and picked up some Earl Grey Rooibos tea.

I adore the delicious flowery taste of bergamot found in Earl Grey teas, and mixing this with rooibos, which is naturally decaffeinated makes a tea that I can enjoy any time of the day, without worrying about the caffeine making for very weird dreams or a restless sleep.  Bergamot oil is also reported to be an anti-depressant, and helps with digestion – probably one of the reasons I always feel so calm and content when drinking it (or maybe just because it tastes so good)!  Also – rooibos tea is reported to be excellent for digestion as well.  Good to know if you don’t feel like eating a cup of belly-dancing yoghurt. 😉

Teaopia’s Earl Grey Rooibos is good – there’s a slight smoky taste that I find with most rooibos teas, but it’s not as strong as I’ve tasted (and smelled) with other teas.  Similarly, the bergamot flavor isn’t particularly strong either.  I likely would like this tea even more if the bergamot flavor was stronger.  There is a nice creamy taste however, and I enjoy it best with milk and sugar (like most of my black teas).  It steeps very dark and intense, but being a rooibos tea, I’ve found I don’t have to worry as much about over-steeping as I have with some of my black teas and most of my greens.

Steepster has a review of this tea as well, if you’re interested in another opinion!  If rooibos tea isn’t your thing, then check out this blog post from Tea for Two featuring Teaopia’s classic Earl Grey tea.

Have you tried Teaopia’s Earl Grey Rooibos? What did you think?  Comment below and let us know!

Teaopia on Urbanspoon

 
3 Comments

Posted by on May 17, 2011 in South-West Calgary, Tea & Beverages

 

Tags: , , , , ,

3 responses to “Tea: Earl Grey Rooibos

  1. Media with no limits

    August 25, 2011 at 5:03 am

    Bad Ass site thumbs up 😉

     
  2. Truly

    December 21, 2012 at 6:53 am

    Thanks so much for this post. I was given this as a gift, and was curious if it was decaf. I really appreciate the flavor this tea brings to the table. I also drink it with milk and a hit of sugar. Totally yummy. Thanks again. :O)

     

Leave a Reply

 
