RSS

Tea – Stash’s Chocolate Mint Oolong

15 May

Stash's Chocolate Mint Oolong

A lot of tea-snobs don’t have many good things to say about commercially available bagged teas.  They claim that many (not all) tea companies just use the ‘leftovers’ (fannings, dust, etc) to make their bagged teas, rather than the larger pieces of leaves and other ingredients that are reserved for loose leaf teas, and because of this, there is less of the desirable oils and other ‘good stuff’ in bagged teas.

There’s also the inevitable snobbery that something that is easy (bagged versus loose leaf) and readily available (grocery store versus dedicated tea shop) must be lower quality.

While I certainly have my favorites among the loose leaf teas I’ve tried, I’m not a tea-snob (yet!) and also have a few favorites amongst the commercially available bagged teas I’ve tried.

A new delight has been Stash’s Chocolate Mint Oolong tea.  I picked this up from Safeway, and have really enjoyed it.  The chocolate flavor, mint flavor, and the flavor of the oolong tea are all really nicely blended so that no one flavor overpowers the others. Scent-wise it’s the same thing.. the individual scents don’t overwhelm one another.  It’s naturally a bit sweet (though as a morning tea I do add some sweetener) but not overly so in my sweet-loving opinion.  I bet it would be fantastic with a bit of milk too!  It has a slightly creamy taste, but with the mint and the oolong, there’s a freshness to it as well. I’ve enjoyed this tea mostly in the mornings (when I can most use a pick-me-up), but it would likely also be a great dessert tea.

Liber-teas compared this tea to mint chocolate chip ice cream, in the Tea Review blog and I wouldn’t say that the mint flavor is as strong, I can definitely see the connection. Another blogger, M&M’sPersonalized agreed that the flavors of the tea, mint, and chocolate are all really well balanced in this tea.

Have you tried Stash’s Chocolate Mint Oolong tea yet?  What about other chocolate teas, do you have a favorite?  Please comment below!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 15, 2011 in Tea & Beverages

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
