RSS

Wurst in Mission, Calgary

03 May
Wurst in Mission, Calgary

Wurst in Mission, Calgary

I visited Wurst in the Mission district not too long ago for a birthday, and I thought I would share a few photos with the readers of Happy Sushi Belly.

Mushroom flatbread at Wurst

Mushroom flatbread at Wurst

While the UrbanSpoon page for Wurst suggests that they take reservations – it turns out the service is only available for parties of 10 or more. This means when we arrived we did not know if the rest of our (smaller than 10) party was there yet. The hostess wasn’t of any help – she suggested that we head downstairs to look for our party on our own.

I had checked out the menu online in advance, but when I was there I wasn’t especially inspired. I ended up ordering the “Pilz” flatbread – with “wild mushrooms, gruyere, goat cheese and rosemary oil” The menu forgot to include that there would be onions on the dish…

The flatbread was alright, though I found it a bit greasy overall.

Chocolate brownie from Wurst

Chocolate brownie from Wurst

For dessert I had the “Wurst Brownie Ever” – a rather dry brownie topped with “warm fudge sauce, kirsch cherries, whipped cocoa, and vanilla ice cream”. It was alright.. though I’ve had much, much better brownies elsewhere.  (The whipped chocolate was probably the best part of the dish.

I found the drink prices really high so didn’t bother ordering a drink at all.  One of our parties cut his lip on a chipped glass, so the bill below reflects the removal of his drinks and dessert from the bill.  

Bill from Wurst

Bill from Wurst

I found the whole experience pretty underwhelming. (Including the duck-fat fries which I had heard were great – I sampled a few from one of my companions, and they weren’t anything special either.) The meal was fine, but it just wasn’t remarkable in any way.

Wurst
2437 4th St SW
Calgary, AB
T2S 1X5
(403) 245-2345
WURST Überkitchen. Wunderbar on Urbanspoon

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 3, 2014 in South-West Calgary, Treats

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 419 other followers

