RSS

Sushi: Sushi Hiro

20 Nov

Now that I’m returning to talking about Happy Bellies here at home, I thought I’d share with you one of my favorite places for sushi in Calgary for getting together with groups.

Group dining criteria

Sushi  from Sushi Hiro in Calgary

Sushi from Sushi Hiro in Calgary

For groups, I look for a place that is central, and easy to get to by transit or vehicles – plus something that has parking nearby. For big groups I have plenty of friends who rely on transit, so being close to the train is important, and a central location means it’s not too far for any one person.

I also look for a place with good service – where servers don’t have a problem splitting a bill, and know the fine art of how to not interrupt good conversations. The physical layout is important too – not all spaces can accommodate groups of 8-10 people, and give us the space for semi-private conversations.  That good service comes into play with the space too –  groups often don’t all arrive together, and having a space that can stretch if needed, and servers who roll with the changing numbers is important too.

Of course, good food is important too!

Sushi Hiro has generally met the mark on all of my criteria every time I’ve invited a group of friends out for sushi.

I was there not too long ago, and took a few quick pictures.  Since I was there with a group of friends, I didn’t spend as much time as I sometimes do recording the menu or pricing – I just took some quick iPhone photos – this just means I’ll need to return to Sushi Hiro another time!

Sashimi from Sushi Hiro in Calgary

Sashimi from Sushi Hiro in Calgary

Instead of being fussy and ordering a la carte sushi by the piece which is what I usually do, I had the combination dinner (I think it was $19.95) which starts with miso soup and a salad, and then I chose the sushi and sashimi option, which came with tuna, salmon, and scallop sashimi, a bowl of rice, and then five pieces of nigiri sushi, and three pieces of tuna maki sushi (a roll).

Combination dinner  from Sushi Hiro in Calgary

Combination dinner from Sushi Hiro in Calgary

Delicious!

Want more opinions? Food = Life thinks that Sushi Hiro offers up some of the best sushi in Calgary (as per a 2011 post) and Cody from Calgaryism considers Sushi Hiro to be traditional and authentic Japanese food. Likewise, Foodosophy considers Sushi Hiro to be an ‘institution’ for sushi-lovers in Calgary.

What’s your favorite restaurant in Calgary (sushi or otherwise) for a group get together? Let us know in the comments below!

Sushi Hiro
727 5 Ave SW
Calgary, AB
T2P 0N2
(403) 233-0605

Sushi Hiro Japanese on Urbanspoon

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 20, 2013 in Downtown Calgary, South-West Calgary, Sushi

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 425 other followers

