RSS

Waffles & Chix Calgary Food Truck

28 Oct

American soul food favourite Chicken and Waffles can now be found through one of Calgary’s food trucks, and earlier this month I had the chance to sample what Waffles & Chix had to offer.

Waffles N Chix food truck

Waffles N Chix food truck

Keep reading for my brief review!

Waffles N Chix food truck menu

Waffles N Chix food truck menu

I don’t work downtown, so I’m not surrounded by food trucks like the people who live and work downtown are, so there are still many, many food trucks I have yet to experience.

Waffles & Chix has a fairly large menu, all building off the chicken and/or  waffle theme.   Their featured dish is Waffle &  Chix, which is Southern fried chicken on a Belgium waffle with white gravy and maple syrup.

They also  have a Cheezy Waffle Sandwich, Fried Chicken Poutine, Parmesan & Chives Fries, Bacon Waffle, Cheese Waffle, Nutella & Banana Waffle, and strawberries and whipped cream (which I imagine includes the waffle too…)

While my lunch companion went for the Waffle & Chix, I opted for the Bacon Waffle. My companion said that his lunch was good – but a little strange (I thought that the powdered sugar on the waffle under the bacon and gravy was strange too). My waffle was good, with the bacon mixed into the batter – it wasn’t a very strong bacon taste though (which is good, since I’m not a huge bacon fan), and it too had sugar sprinkled on top. While it was good, it wasn’t something I’d necessarily order again, though I might try the poutine…

I usually think of food trucks as ‘festival’ food, since that’s how I’ve usually seen them.  Festival food means standing around, so I did have a bit of a struggle with the waffle because it wasn’t really finger-food.  It required a knife and fork to eat, which required sitting down.  This wasn’t a problem of course, since I was close enough to a place to sit down, but it might pose a bit of a challenge if I was enjoying lunch somewhere I couldn’t sit down with a table to cut the waffle.  Serving the waffle cut into fourths might have made this a bit easier – at least then it could have been more finger-food-like.

If you’re looking to find out where some of Calgary’s Food Trucks are, check out the Calgary Food Truck app and website at the Street Food App.

To round out this post, I thought I’d share some photos with you from a few days earlier, when I went out to take photos of the fall leaves at Fish Creek Provincial Park, a 20 km park which is one of the largest urban parks in Canada. The park protects much of the Fish Creek valley. “While Calgary has grown around it, the park has remained an extensive protected natural area with much to offer.”

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Waffles & Chix mobile food truck
Waffles & Chix on Urbanspoon

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 28, 2013 in South-West Calgary, Treats

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 377 other followers

